How To Calculate CPM

How To Calculate CPM

In case you are wondering how to calculate CPM as a publisher or an advertiser, you are not alone in the struggle. There are so many advertisers and publishers out there doing the same thing.

The reason is simple and straight forward. On the advertiser’s side, they want to know their potential cost of acquiring or buying a certain number of Ad impressions or how much they are going to spend to get a certain amount of impressions for an advertising campaign.

Publishers, on the other hand, want to know how much they will get paid for selling a certain number of impressions generated from their page views.

So technically, it is very important to calculate your CPM both as a publisher and as an advertiser in order to know your potential cost of advertising.

In this blog post, I will focus on teaching you how to calculate your CPM for your advertising campaign as a publisher and how to calculate your CPM for potential earnings as a publisher.

So let’s get into it…

Defining what is CPM?

CPM (Cost per 1000 Mille) is simply an advertising pricing model which simply means the cost per 1,000 impressions. This is the cost an advertiser pay for buying 1,000 impressions or views per ads.

Also, it represents the amount of money a publisher is paid for selling 1,000 impressions for their advertising space.

Interstitial Ads CPM rates

How to calculate CPM Cost as an advertiser

As a good marketer, it is always good to know the potential ROI on investment before putting in your Ad money. This also applies to your CPM advertising campaign.

As a marketer or company, here is how you suppose to calculate your CPM cost before starting your Ad campaign.

How to calculate cost of advertising as an advertiser

Doing the math

The cost of the advertising campaign is divided by the number of desired impressions and then multiplied by 1,000 to get the cost of advertising (2,500/500,000) x 1000 = $5).

In the above case, the advertiser or the company will have to spend $5 per 1,000 impressions on their ad campaign with a budget of $2,500.

As an advertiser, your CPM will be set by the ad network or a publisher (Blogger or a website owner). It’s only in real cases the advertiser will be given the opportunity to negotiate their CPM rates.

Also, Real-time bidding helps to determine the actual amount you are going to pay for 1,000 impressions. In any case, the formula for calculating your advertising campaign cost is (Total cost of advertising campaign / Desired impression X by 1,000).

How to calculate CPM as a Publisher

As a publisher, you would want to calculate the potential earnings based on your predicted number of impressions per month. Even though the CPM formula is the same, your CPM earnings are calculated a bit different from the way advertisers calculate their cost of CPM rate.

Here is how you need to calculate your potentials earnings considering the ad networks will have to deduct a percentage of your actual earnings.

How to calculate CPM earnings as a publisher

Your CPM earnings solely depend on the number of impressions generated per month from your website or blog. In the above case, we assume the publisher’s blog or website is able to generate 500,000 impressions per month.

If you are selling your ad inventory directly to advertisers, you will set your CPM rate and asked advertisers to pay which will earn you all the income.

In case you sign-up with an Ad network, you will have the advantage of having 100% fill rates but will also have to forfeit some percentage of the revenue to the ad network.

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Our Ad Network (AdsTargets) for example pays publishers from 80% to about 85% of the revenue generated from the advertiser’s income to ensure the publisher’s revenue is maximised.

CPM Calculator

To make things easy for our both advertisers and publishers, we have created a CPM Calculator for easy calculation of your CPM cost and CPM earnings for advertisers and publishers respectively.

How to Maximise your CPM Campaign

To maximise your CPM campaign, you need to consider putting some strategies to use. Strategies that will enhance the performance of your campaigns and yield the maximum ROI for your CPM advertising campaign.

Of course, there are some factors that influence these outcomes such as the demographics of your audience, the ad network, and the cost of your campaign all will have a significant effect on the visibility of your ad campaign.

Here are a few things you need to do

  • Do audience research to determine the size and specific target audience
  • Choose your advertising platform carefully
  • Consistently optimise your ad campaign
  • Evaluate your campaign periodically to check to ensure your ROI is maximised
  • Adjust your target audience demographic periodically when needed.

All these efforts to optimise your ad campaign ensures your ad budget is channelled only to what is working minimising lost and maximising your advertising ROI.

Platforms such as Google Ads will recommend adjusting your campaign almost every day to ensure your campaign achieve a good quality score.

Conclusion

Calculating your CPM cost and the potential earnings will always put you in a better position to know how much your campaign will gain or rather profit compare to what you are going to spend.

This will not only lead to better decisions making but will help you maximise your entire business profit as a company.

Publishers will also make more money if they are able to estimate their potential earnings while comparing ad networks and their potential number of impressions.

If you have ever done your CPM calculations before or during your campaigns, let us know how it has impacted your advertising campaign in the comment section.

Ultimate List Of Best CPM Ad Networks for Publishers

Ultimate List Of Best CPM Ad Networks for Publishers

I guess the reason why you are here reading this post right now is that you want to earn passive income by showing CPM Ads on your blog or website. It is undeniable fact that publishers these days are making tens of thousands through some of the best CPM ad networks.

This is reasonable considering the number of hours must publishers put in researching and writing quality content. Ultimately, the price for such awesome hard work is creating a stream of income that pays you every month while you concentrate on writing and marketing your content.

Also, relying on Google AdSense alone is just like putting all your eggs in one basket. The moment the basket is dropped by accident, all your eggs will be broken and you will be left with nothing.

Due to such uncertainties, it will be good if you as a publisher will have alternative CPM Ad networks to either use simultaneously with Google AdSense or even combine one or two similar ad networks to earn better income publishing ads on your website or blog.

Another important thing you need to know is this, publishers that make money by publishing ads through PPC ad networks or publishing PPC Ads are publishers with high levels of traffic.

It is more profitable for smaller publishers to increase their revenue by publishing CPM Ads simply because they are paid based on the number of impressions they offer. The equation is simple, you get paid each time you have a thousand impression, for example, 1000 impression may = $5.

This means you get paid each time your visitors view your pages up to 1000 times even if they don’t click on the Ads on your pages.

Now that you have an understanding of why you should publish CPM Ads, here are some of the best paying CPM ad networks you can choose from.

Best paying CPM ad networks

AdsTargets

If you have intentions of publishing CPM Ads to increase your revenue as a publisher, you might want to try a new ad network like ours and compare your revenue to others.

AdsTarget allows publishers to monetise their traffic with CPM Ads to increase their revenue.

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AdsTargets has a great vertical to suit your publishing demand especially if you have a reasonable amount of traffic to monetise.

The payment system here is straight forward and simple. CPM ranges from $1 to $4 per 1000 impressions. You will be able to withdraw your funds daily as far as you have up to $35 in your publisher account.

Payments are done through Paypal and wire transfer, the best of it all is that we pay publishers more than 80% of the ad revenue.

Propeller Ads

This is another great way to make money publishing CPM ads. Propeller Ads even have higher eCPM compare to AdSense and is believed to welcome publishers from all over the globe.

It presents an easy opportunity for small publishers also to join the ad network and increase their revenue.

They offer all kind of Ads such as Standard banner display ads, Interstitials, Popunder ads, dialog ads and Text ads. They are mostly seen on streaming and download websites

Just like every other advertising networks, you will be able to make more money if you do very well based on GEOs such as the U.S and U.K.

Propeller CPM Rates

$0.50 to $1.00 offers most of the blog/websites. File sharing websites are paid about $1.50 CPM.

Pros

  • It’s very easy to join.
  • They offer real-time reporting.
  • They pay about 80% of the revenue to the publishers.
  • Payment methods are:– Wire Transfer, Payoneer.

Cons

  • Because of the Popunder and interstitial ads, your visitors may not like it which will increase your bounce rates.
  • They don’t support payment through PayPal.

Adsterra Top CPM Ad Network

This is another leading CPM ad network for both advertisers and publishers. It works in over 190 countries, they have over 22 billion ad impressions every month, more than 50K ad campaigns and over 10K leads monthly.

Adsterra Network

Adsterra is one of the fastest-growing CPM Ad network for publishers. They offer a variety of ads such as Pop-under ads, traditional banner display ads, slider ads and both for desktop and mobile publishers.

Adsterra Network offers a lot of publishing options for publishers while at the same time it’s a great ad network for media buyers.

AdPushup CPM Ad Network

AdPushup proud itself as a unique ad network that helps publishers optimise their ad stack using machine learning.

They have a platform that creates better ad layouts using A/B testing, set up high-yield ad formats, reduce-page load time, provide premium demand, Adblock revenue recovery, and header bidding, with in-depth reporting.

AdPushup Product features

Adpushup has great product features to enhance publishers monetisation such as seen above. It truly has helped a lot of publishers to increase their earnings while they focus on creating their content.

RevenueHits

RevenueHits is another precious and top CPM ad network for publishers across the globe. They have over 20,000 publishers across the world that utilises their platform

RevenueHits Ad type

publishers can choose from various ads to monetise their traffic as shown in the above image. They do not limit their monetisation by CPM but also PPC advertising.

Here are some of the benefits for publishers that choose to work with RevenueHits.

RevenueHits benefits

  • Competitive Rates
  • On-time payouts
  • 100% Fill Rate. Guaranteed
  • Compliance
  • Full Control & 24/7 Monitoring.
  • Advanced Technology Tool for Adblock monetization
  • Great Service

Adcash

Adcash is another great platform that offers publishers all kind of ads format with high eCPM and flexible working with different languages with worldwide coverage.

AdCash for Publishers

Just like other media platforms, it also offers both advertisers and publisher to sell and buy media using CPC and CPM pricing models.

They promise a 100% fill rate with native ads, pop-under, display ads and interstitials also across all devices.

Adcash ad types

HillTop Ads

Recently making waves in the advertising industry. Hilltop ads offer publishers a wide range of advertising formats to choose from such as native ads, video ads, push notifications, Pops, direct links and display banners.

Though their prefered regions are the US and UK for traffic, they accept publishers all over the world. Apart from choosing from a variety of ad formats, you can also choose to monetise your web traffic or mobile traffic with a 30% more effective monetisation according to them.

They welcome all niches and pay publishers through Bitcoin, ePayments, Webmoney, Wire, ePayService, and Paxum.

HillTOp Ads ad network features

Their platform is friendly and packed with great features. See above for all the great features you could enjoy from HillTop Ads.

Media.net Popular CPM Ad Network

This is probably one of the most popular and the best performings CPM Ad network around today with a massive number of advertisers across the globe but mostly in North American countries. Canada and the US alone takes over 79% of their media market.

Media.net run the largest contextual ads from Yahoo/Bing Ads while their platform helps their old publishers maximise their monetisation revenue with high CPMs.

They run all kind of ads such as native ads, contextual ads and display banner ads.

Media.net CPM Ad Network for publishers

To be approved by their Ad network, they demand their publishers to have quality content while updating them without intellectual property violation during the time of partnership.

Media.net CPM Rates

Their rates range between $1 to $1.5 CPM while niches such as car loan, health insurance, mortgage, and credit loan are known to perform better.

Pros

  • Publishers are offered a Personal Account Managers.
  • Immediate Payment once it reached a threshold of $100.
  • Payment via Wire Transfer, PayPal.
  • Customer support is good.

Cons

  • Publishers are expected to have the majority of their traffic from tier-1 countries (US, UK, Canada).

Amobee

This works great for publishers with massive traffic and wants to monetise their traffic. Amobee have been internationally accepted ad network for helping publishers to earn while working on their content

As a publisher, you can monetise your ad inventory to earn money Amobee various verticals mostly in mobile entertainment and communication channels such as messages, videos, games and music and messages.

Adtegrity

This is another CPM media buying platforms that offer native ads for publishers willing to publish ads on their niche blogs. It’s is allows both publishers and advertisers to work together for mutual benefits.

The limitations for publishers especially small publishers with small less than 50,000 visitors to your website. Apart from that, you must be able to generate 50% of your traffic from the US.

While their ad format covers videos, rich media ads for publishers to monetise with, they also promise a 100% fill rate to ensure publishers maximise their earnings.

Their technology has exceptional ad delivery system that helps track and target ads to users to improve targeting and engagement. It simply a good choice to consider if you are a niche blogger.

Formally known as RadiumOne has a wide range of CPM media for publishers. They offer great integrations, mobile SDK and demand that makes a difference.

Pros

  • 100% demands and Ad formats available.
  • Pays high CPM rates.
  • Timely pay through PayPal and Wire.
  • RTB-based buying and selling.

Cons

  • Their threshold is $100.
  • Net60 payment cycle.
  • Publishers are required to have 5000 unique visitors per month to join the network.
Best CPM Ad Networks for publishers

AdBlade Network

Here is an innovative content style monetisation solution for publishers with high chances of increasing your revenue while monetising your traffic with them.

AdBlade pays high CPM rates as they claim to attract quality advertisers all over the globe. It is one of the ad networks that work well with many premium publishers.

They also run other ads formats to ensure you always have ads to keep your earnings on all the time. The downside for most publishers is that they only accept publishers with a minimum of 500.000 monthly visits.

Here are some of the good things about it.

Pros

  • AdBlade ads can run simultaneously with AdSense and others.
  • Unique content Ad formats.
  • High-quality ads.
  • High CPM rate of about $2 and even more for tier 1 country traffic

Cons

  • Very low acceptance rate.
  • The minimum threshold is $100.

If you have a lot of traffic to monetise, you will consider trying AdBlade.

BuySellAds

Here is another easy to join an ad network for publishers across the globe. BuuySellAds does not have minimum entry requirement for publishers in terms of traffic per month.

It makes it easy for publishers to join the ad network and increase their revenue while monetising with ad impressions. Their system is more of a connection platform that allows, advertisers, to choose their publishers right within the platform.

The process of matching niche publishers enable advertisers to target their ads to the right audience while at the same time providing quality ads to publishers. It is simply perfect for new bloggers.

They also run all ads types and on both devices (Desktop and mobile). Their average CPM is around $0.75 while it hovers from $.20 to $2.25

Pros

  • Relevant, quality, and targeted ads.
  • The minimum payment threshold for Paypal is $20
  • Fast payment (Within 3 days max)

Cons

  • Prices are non-negotiable
  • They take 25% of your revenue, which a bit higher the market standard (20%).

Adbuff

This is considered one of the best AdSense alternative ad networks for publishers that uses one of the most innovative ad technology to increase CPM rates for publishers in realtime.

Due to these innovative machines used by Adbuff, publishers are truly given the opportunity to increase their earnings while monetising with the Ad Network.

Adbuff AdSense alternative

Because advertisers are also allowed bid for inventory in real-time, they pay slightly high which also enable publishers to make more money with the platform.

As a publisher, you stand a high chance of earning high rates of CPM ranging from $0.50 to $3.

Pros

  • 100% fill rate for CPM and CPC basis.
  • Share 90% of advertisers revenue.
  • A highly advanced Real-time dashboard for real-time reports.
  • Assign a personal account manager for every publisher.
  • Sign-up bonus and higher CPMs.
  • As they accept publishers with original content and tier-1 traffic, ads are expected to be relevant and verified.

Cons

  • Just a minimum of 2000 unique visitors per day
  • Payment threshold is $45 and can be withdrawn anytime.

AdMaven High Paying CPM Ad Network

AdMaven is one of the most popular ad networks for publishers and used by many publishers as an alternative for AdSense. It is also known for paying high CPM rates for premium publishers with tiar countries traffic.

While AdMaven offers many ad types, they pay more for interstitials and push notifications. They have over 260 million users globally generating over 5 billion impressions daily.

Verizon media (Formerly One By AOL and Advertising.com)

Another great name in the advertising and publishing industry. Although the company has been transferred severally to other companies, they still maintain their market share and expanding its service base and locations.

It is one of the highest paying CPM ad networks for premium publishers while also considered one of the most popular and top CPM media platform for both advertisers and publishers.

Verizon media have great tools for publishers to maximise their income while using tools such as BrightRoll, ONE and Yahoo Gemini to enable publishers to achieve their goals and set new challenges.

They offer a wide range of advertising products to enable you to achieve a 100% fill rate. You will found out they have one of the lowest payment thresholds as low as $25. However, the chances of been accepted are very low as they require a minimum of 500k visits per month.

Criteo

Another big name in the advertising industry. Criteo has made its name stand out among CPM ad networks and has been on the rise for the past 5 years.

It uses great tools to generate reasonable revenue for their advertisers due to its innovative targeting tools. At the same time, their publishers are able to enjoy high CPM rates hence advertisers are able to pay high rates for quality traffic.

Criteo products

Criteo has an amazing list of products to favour both advertisers and publishers while at the same time they partner with great ad networks to increase value and revenue for their clients.

ExoClick

As a publisher, you will have the opportunity to tap into one of the best traffic monetising sources to increase your revenue. ExoClick is one of the fastest-growing ad networks for advertisers and publishers.

It hits 7 billion daily impressions in 2019 and expected to grow more in the coming years making it one of the most promising CPM ad network for publishers across the world.

You can become part of their 65,000 webs and mobile publishing platform. ExoClick’s proprietary software offers more than 20 different ad formats, optimized targeting and behavioural retargeting to increase advertisers ROI on their campaigns while at the same time making the most money for publishers.

As a publisher, you can give it a try and see what comes out of it.

UberCPM

As a small publisher, this might be one of your best options to publish CPM Ads via UberCPM. Even though this ad network is one of the fastest-growing CPM ad networks for publishers, they still maintain a very flexible joining system

UberCPM accepts publishers with no minimum traffic requirement which means it doesn’t matter how small your traffic size is, you will be accepted as a publisher here.

Another good feature from them is that they pay publishers about 80% of the ad revenue from advertisers while they keep only 20%.

There are many downsides to this ad network and two most prominent are low CPM rates especially from tier 2 and tier 3 countries while tiar 1 countries average is $1.

Also, most of their ads are irrelevant which means it does not work great for niche publishers.

Pros  

  • No minimum traffic requirements.
  • Monthly payout through PayPal.
  • Real-Time Statistics and Reports.

Cons

  • The ads are irrelevant.
  • CPMs are comparatively lower.
  • Slower ad loads.

In case you are a beginner and have a very low traffic, you can give it a try cause you got nothing much to lose.

Conclusions

As listed above, you are free to take your time and try each of the ad networks and decide which one works best for you or make you the most money.

Since there are many CPM Ad networks across the world, you might be missing a lot if you just stick with one and never explore others. use this list as a tool to make the most out of your traffic.

You are free to always return here as we will always update this list to help publisher sell their traffic more profitable as they deserve to.

Let us also know in the comment section your taught about this list.

ROI Calculator

ROI Calculator

Many online businesses are kin to know about their potential online advertising ROI before investing their money into any ad campaign. This is actually important because it gives the marketer an idea of how much their ROI would be. We built an ROI calculator to make things easy for businesses and individuals marketers to calculate their potential ROI of their advertising campaigns.

To calculate your ROI, use the ROI calculator below…

Advertising ROI Calculator

To calculate, please enter your figures, click calculate, and your result will be displayed in the section below the calculate button. You can play with the figures to see what increases and decreases to see how it will impact your ROI.

* Note: Return On Ad Spend (ROAS) is called Value/Cost in AdWords. ROI subtracts the cost of advertising, but ROAS does not.

ROI formula

ROI Formula

Calculating ROI is pretty simple and straight forward mathematics. It is calculated in two ways and this will be demonstrated below.

The first is this:

As seen above in the first ROI formula, calculating ROI is simply taking the net return on investment and dividing it by the cost of investment and them multiplying it by 100%.

For a digital marketer, the net return on investment is equal to the total sales revenue derived from an advertising campaign while the cost of investment will be the total cost of advertising (Total Ad cost).

Once the division is done, then it will be multiplied by 100% to get the actual advertising ROI.

The second is this:

In the second ROI formula, the final value of the investment is subtracted from the initial value of an investment and then divided it by the cost of investment then multiplied by 100% to arrive at the ROI.

This will also work perfectly for online businesses when trying to determine their potential ROI on Ad campaigns.

ROI Calculator

Conclusion

We hope this post will help online marketers calculate their advertising ROI and determine if their investment will be profitable before investing their money.

In any case, we will be happy to hear your experience with the ROI calculator we have provided for you guys. Let us also know how we can improve this post and calculator.

CPM Calculator – How to calculate CPM

CPM Calculator – How to calculate CPM

To determine how much you need to spend to buy a certain number of impressions for a particular advertising campaign is not always easy for many marketers. On the other hand, publishers also need a CPM calculator to determine the amount they are going to make based on their traffic capacity. Hence, in this post, we teach you how to calculate CPM.

This will help make things easier for both advertisers and publishers at least to figure out their campaign cost and possible ROI on their advertising and publishing campaigns.

So let’s get into it…

What is CPM?

CPM is simply an advertising pricing model used by both advertisers and publishers to determine the cost of their CPM advertising campaign.

CPM stands for (costs per mille/thousand) which represents the cost of one thousand ad impressions.

Use the below CPM calculator to calculate your CPM.

CPM Calculator

Fill in your Campaign details below

Enter two out of three options then hit ‘Calculate’ to identify the missing field.

Total cost of a campaign

To find the cost of an online campaign, enter:

  1. CPM: (cost per 1,000 impressions)
  2. Number of impressions

Cost per 1,000 impressions (CPM)

Cost per 1,000 impressions (CPM)

  1. Total cost of campaign
  2. Number of impressions

Number of impressions

To find the total number of impressions you can get for your budget, enter:



How is CPM Calculated

Calculating CPM is a very easy division and multiplication mathematics and very easy to calculate. It is calculated by simply taking the total cost of the advertising campaign and dividing it by the total number of impressions, and then multiplying the number by 1000 (CPM = cost/impressions x 1000).

In most cases, the CPM rate is set by the Ad network or the publisher based on the amount and quality of traffic. Some publishers may decide to charge for $5 per 1000 impressions while some may charge for $3 per 1000 impressions.

Here is how to calculate CPM

How to calculate CPM

Doing the maths using the above figures

Let’s assume a given company is planning to spend $10,000 for a CPM campaign and wish to get about 400,000 impressions.

To determine the cost they are going to pay per 1,000 impressions, you have to take the $10,000 and divide it by 400,000 which is the desired impressions, and then multiply it by 1,000 to get the cost per 1,000 impressions which is $25 in our case.

You can use the above CPM Calculator to get all your figures. You have to input only two figures to get the other. This means you can use the calculator to figure out your cost per campaign or how much you can spend to get a desired amount of impressions.

One of the benefits of using the above CPM calculator is to know the approximate outcome of an advertising campaign, it will also help you have a better understanding of your campaign ROI

Conclusion

CPM is an important term and as a pricing model which makes it important for both businesses and publishers. For businesses, calculating advertising cost and the possible outcome is a necessity. An understanding of your CPM cost will give you an idea of how much to budget per advertising campaign.

As a publisher, you will be able to use the above CPM calculator to understand how much you will get publishing certain ads on your blog or website.

Using the above CPM calculator is in every way beneficial for both advertisers and publishers.