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Advertising Networks Frequently Asked Questions

Advertising Networks Frequently Asked Questions

Advertising NetworksThe world of advertising has many ups and downs but most importantly, it has been known to be extremely beneficial for marketers around the world. For newbies, Advertising is nothing short of an industry that is riddled with complected terms. these terms make it difficult to understand the differences between Advertising Networks and how to use them effectively. It is the duty of experts within the industry to make it easy for Advertisers and Publishers to understand the key terms and how to use them effectively. In this article, we state and describe all the types of advertising Networks.
What is Advertising Networks?

What is Advertising Networks?

Advertising Networks which is also known as “Ad Network” are online advertising technologies that make it easy for Advertisers to create and distribute Ads to publishers Ad spaces. this simple means, Advertising Network simply connects Advertisers and Publishers for easy advertising and monetization. One could simply say, the main function of Ad Network is to aggregate publishers inventory to fit advertisers demand. On the other hand, Advertising Networks provide advantages to advertisers as it enables them to create and target their Ads to a specific audience while at the same time, advertisers can track their results through impressions and clicks, video average watch time. The flexibility the system provides for publishers and advertisers is the simply the connection that benefits each party.

You May also like: Defining What is Ad Network and how it Works

What is Mobile Ad Networks?

Mobile Ad Networks work just like any other typical Ad Network, the difference is that these type of Ad Networks put more emphases in targeting only mobile traffic, these traffic are traffic that is generated only from mobile Apps, Mobile search results, mobile display Ads etc. The advertising industry has seen a massive change since mobile phones became smarter, the advertising industry has done a great job utilizing mobile device users and the results are fantastic. Mobile Ad Networks give advertisers to target specific mobile audience. For instance, markets advertising Apps could use mobile Ad Networks to target only mobile user who is mostly potential customers. it makes sense to use mobile ad networks as all types of ads can be displayed or shown on mobile devices such as banner ads, text ads, interstitial ads, In-App Ads etc.

The video below gives a very detailed explanation of the advertising ecosystem

What is PPC Ad Networks?

Pay per click (PPC) which is also known as Cost per click (CPC) is basically an Internet or digital advertising model used by Advertising Networks. This makes PPC Ad Networks be Ad Networks that specifically use only PPC pricing model for their adverting. It is one of the most used advertising price models which is easily understood by advertisers and some can argue it is the most preferred pricing model used by both advertising networks and advertisers. PPC advertising model comes in two different types: The Flat rate PPC and Bid-based PPC

The Flat rate PPC: This model of pricing specifies that the advertisers and the Ad network or the Publisher agrees on a flat rate price per clicks generated. For instance, the advertiser and the publishers may agree on 0.5 per each click generated. In some cases, Ad Networks or the publisher will charge based on each Ad space on the webpage.

Bid-based PPC: In this model, several advertisers compete against each other in an auctioning system hosted by the Ad network. The advertisers set the maximum amount they are willing to pay for each specific ad position on the publisher’s web pages. Keywords are often used to enhance the target while the auctioning system is triggered automatically each time a visitor triggers the ad position or spot.

What is CPM Ad Networks?

First I will like to explain what is CPM in the simplest way, Cost per impression (CPI), also known as Cost per thousand impressions (CPM) is an advertising pricing model which pays the publisher a fixed amount for every 1000 impressions or page-views generated. After understanding what CPM is, it will be easier to understand what CPM Ad Networks is which is, Ad Networks what specifically use this type of pricing method for both advertisers and publishers. Some publishers prefer this pricing model due to its flexibility. The calculation of CPM is taken from the set advertising cost and the number of impressions which expressed as Cost per impression ($) = Advertising cost ($) / Number of Impressions (#).

For example:

  1. Total cost for running the ad is $15,000.
  2. The total estimated audience is 2,400,000 people.
  3. ($15,000/2,400,000) = $0.00625
  4. CPM is calculated as: $0.00625 x 1000 (meaning per thousand impressions) = $6.25

What is eCPM?

Effective Cost Per Mille (eCPM) is a measurement system used by advertisers, Advertising Networks and Publishers to estimate the actual value of advertising cost. eCPM is calculated in the following manner: Cost-per-Click (CPC) auction calculated by multiplying the CPC times the click-through rate (CTR), and multiplying that by one thousand. (Represented by: (CPC x CTR) x 1000 = eCPM.).

Example

  • There are two banners: “Curious Apps” and “Sensor Apps”.
  • The publishers earn $1 per click.
  • Both banners were published for the duration of one week.
  • “Curious Apps” was viewed by 5000 visitors from which 20 clicked on it.
  • “Sensor Apps” was viewed by 5000 visitors from which 70 clicked on it.

This shows that:

  1. “Curious Apps” has an eCPM of $7 ($1 * 20/5000) * 1000
  2. “Sensor Apps” has an eCPM of $20 ($1 * 70/5000) * 1000

What is Video Ad Networks?

Video Ad Networks are Ad Networks that specifically sell online video inventory across multiple platforms and devices. These Ad Networks focus online video ads which mostly display before the main video is played also known as “Display video Ads” online video advertising comes in different forms: in-stream, out-stream, interactive, in-game and webpage based videos, creating video messaging before, during, and after consumers take in content on their mobile devices or desktop. Video advertising allows Internet marketers to engage their audience with engaging video ads in very effective ways. YouTube is the biggest video Advertising platform on the Internet while several other Ad Networks are also grabbing the share of the market. Video Ad Networks also use CPC and CPM methods for video advertising.

What is Banner Ad Networks?

To answer this we first have to understand what is banner advertising. Banner advertising refers to the use of a rectangular graphic display that comes in various forms and places on top, bottom or sides of a web-page. Now that you understand what is banner advertising, let’s jump into Banner Ad Networks: these are Ad networks that include banners in their Ad units. publishers or advertisers will be able to place ads in various banner sizes and formats of their choices while publishers also will be able to monetize with various banner sizes and formats from such Ad Networks. Many Ad Networks have banner advertising as part of their Ad units and ad inventory.

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What is Native Ad Networks?

First let’s look at what is native advertising: I would make this simple for you to understand, Native advertising is simply placing Ads on the platforms that match the content of the Ads. Thus, putting ads on content that matches the ads with the intent to target a specific audience. A typical example of this may display video ads on videos that are related to the ad video or putting sports equipment ads on sports blogs or advertising new cars on car review YouTube channels or car review websites and blogs.

What is Ad Exchange Networks?

Lets simply put it as an advertising technology designed to enable the selling and buying of media advertising inventory across multiple Ad Networks. Ad Exchange platforms use a bidding pricing system. This process is entirely technology driven. Some of the most popular Ad exchanges are AppNexus, AOLs Marketplace, Microsoft Ad exchange, OpenX, Rubicon Project Exchange, DoubleClick, and Smaato among many others.

Ad Exchange

What is Interstitial Advertising Networks?

It will be better to understand what is an Interstitial Ad before moving to Interstitial Ad Network. Interstitial Ads also know as the full-screen Ads are ads that cover your screen either on mobile or desktop as soon as you reach a webpage or open an App on your mobile device. These ads are most common in Apps. they are shown mostly between activities or some minutes after interacting with the App. Now that you understand what is an Interstitial Ad, let us define Interstitial Ad Network: These are specific Ad Networks that deal with interstitial ads as part of their Ad inventory. A lot of Ad Networks are beginning to offer advertisers and publishers the opportunity to advertise and monetize with interstitial Ads.

How do I know my Advertising Cost and ROI?

Understanding how to calculate your Advertising cost will definitely help you go a long way in your online advertising. You will be in a better position to know your advertising ROI and also make better decisions on your subsequent advertising. Here is a post that clearly shows you how to calculate your advertising cost and ROI

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Conclusion

These are some of the most asked questions by newbies in the advertising industry. we understand there more than a hundred questions that needed answers but can’t put all of them here in this list. however, we will be happy to know from you which questions you would want us to answer and add to this list. let us know your suggestions in the comment section below.

Targeted Banner Advertising – How to Reach Your Audience

We all know targeted banner advertising can be profitable and have high ROI if well managed. The management here entails targeting the right audience. Many brands used banner advertising to generated unique traffic that converts their visitors to customers. E-Commerce giants like Amazon, eBay are typical examples of brands that benefited massively from banner advertising. The trick here is simply targeting the right audience. In this article, we are going to work you through what is targeted banner advertising and targeted display advertising, then show you various ways you can target your audience using the targeted banner and display advertising methods to reach your audience.

1. What is Targeted Banner Advertising?

As the title implies, targeted means channeling your banner Ads to reach only the right audience, by using variables such as demographics (Age, gender, location, race, education status, marital status and language among others). Their online interest and behavior online are as well utilized. More often, this information is collected by using tools such as Google Analytics or Facebook Pixel which track this information after initial testing Ads. Other methods include Facebook Audience Insights.

  2. What is Targeted Display Advertising?

Just like Targeted banner advertising, Targeted display advertising, on the other hand, targeted display advertising involves the use of banners that come in forms of GIF, Static images and HTMLS. This form of digital advertising also targets audience based on their demographics similar to the above listed. audience behavior and interest is also a criterion. However, this form of advertising is charged mostly on CPM bases and not by Cost per click (CPC) or Pay per click (PPC) methods.

Watch the following video for a complete tutorial on display advertising


Having understood what these advertising methods are, let’s jump into the best ways you can reach your target audience using those two methods. Note: the below methods represents the above two explained methods.

  3. Using Keywords for targeted banner advertising and targeted display advertising

Keywords targeting is one of the most used methods of targeting an audience in digital marketing. most marketers see keywords as the best tactics to target audience because of its track records. Relevant keywords give an insight on how specific web content will be aligned with your campaign. This also suggests if the audience interacting with such web pages will likely be interested in your Ads. Let’s say, for instance, it is obvious that, advertising T-shirt on a fashion Blog will likely result to conversions, more sales because most of the audience visiting that blog will be interested in buying T-shirts.

You may also like

10 Tips for Effective Banner Design and Banner Advertising

The logic behind banner advertising and how it work

4. How can I use the Topic to target my audience?

Choosing a specific topic tells Ad Network to show you ads to web pages that are related to your niche. Again let’s use the example of T-shirt and Google, when you chose your topic right, Google Adsense will only deliver your banner ads or display ad to only quality websites, or Blogs that are relates to your chosen topic.

5. Targeted Banner Adverting by Placement

Ad placement using Google gives you the flexibility to choose groups of websites, which have already reserved spaces on waiting to show your Ads to a targeted audience. You have the opportunity to manually chose where your banner ads should appear on specific groups of websites/Blogs to reach your target audience.

Start Banner Advertising today as low as $2 per day and reach your target audience

6. Targeted Banner Advertising by Interest

This is similar to targeting by topic but gives you more flexibility to choose from various categories. this gives you the ability to reach a more targeted audience that has been selected by Ad preference manager. the advance here is, it allows you to sell more as you reach more people.

7. Geo-Targeting Banner Advertising

In simple terms, this is a process of targeting a specific audience based on their geographical location. Terms like Geo-Fencing are similar but a bit different as it does target audience based on their physical visits, monuments, tourist locations, natural reserve sites or simply to specific city evens or visits to competitors stores or businesses. it’s a great way to target an audience as you already know what their interests and it’s mostly used in targeted display advertising. Another geo-targeting banner advertising method is Geo-Optimization. this gives the advertiser the opportunity to show banner Ads to the audience in a geographical area using their ZIP code, county, city, state etc). however, this method is best for promotional events and with a broader audience. It allows the advertiser to choose devices of their choice to display ads across.

Targeted banner advertising

8. Banner Advertising Search Retargeting

Just like keywords targeting, this another form of remarketing that allows the advertiser to display banner Ads to an audience that search for particular keyword phrases. This practice is commonly used to target those audience based on search volumes on certain keywords and how relevant they are to the campaign.

9. How to use Display Advertising Remarketing

This is another effective way of converting your visitors into customers. You can use this strategy to target visitors that abandoned your cart to buy by showing different Ads. This type of Ads could come with a discount that will trigger their emotions and enable them to take action. this is also known as site retargeting because the practice is similar. You basically use the data you collect from your visitors, analyze it and target specific visitors that didn’t take action.

10. Display Advertising Black-Listing and White-Listing

This gives you the opportunity to targets a specific group of websites and avoids showing Ads on other specific websites. the white-listing here involves including those websites you wish to show your Ads on. On the other hand, Black-listing involves listing a list of websites you don’t want to show your Ads on. This can be done by because of few reasons, one is that you don’t want the content on those sites or their geographical location and second, you simply don’t want to associate with such brands.

Conclusion

We would have touched on the cost of banner advertising but decided to leave that for the next post. however, we want you all to profit from display advertising as much as possible. This is because the opportunities are endless. We believe all the above methods listed above will contribute massively to making you display advertising a success. If you have been doing digital marketing and have some good experience with banner advertising, please let us know in the comment section. likewise, some of you that are just starting out.

Wishing you good luck with digital advertising from all of us from AdsTargets 🙂

Targeted Banner Advertising – How to Reach Your Audience

Targeted Banner Advertising – How to Reach Your Audience

Targeted display advertising
We all know targeted banner advertising can be profitable and have high ROI if well managed. The management here entails targeting the right audience. Many brands used banner advertising to generated unique traffic that converts their visitors to customers. E-Commerce giants like Amazon, eBay are typical examples of brands that benefited massively from banner advertising. The trick here is simply targeting the right audience. In this article, we are going to work you through what is targeted banner advertising and targeted display advertising, then show you various ways you can target your audience using targeted banner and display advertising methods to reach your audience.

1. What is Targeted Banner Advertising?

As the title implies, targeted means channelling your banner Ads to reach only the right audience, by using variables such as demographics (Age, gender, location, race, education status, marital status and language among others). Their online interest and behaviour online are as well utilized. More often, this information is collected by using tools such as Google Analytics or Facebook Pixel which track this information after initial testing Ads. Other methods include Facebook Audience Insights.

  2. What is Targeted Display Advertising?

Just like Targeted banner advertising, Targeted display advertising, on the other hand, targeted display advertising involves the use of banners that come in forms of GIF, Static images and HTMLS. This form of digital advertising also targets audience based on their demographics similar to the above listed. audience behaviour and interest is also a criterion. However, this form of advertising is charged mostly on CPM bases and not by Cost per click (CPC) or Pay per click (PPC) methods.

Watch the following video for a complete tutorial on display advertising


Having understood what these advertising methods are, let’s jump into the best ways you can reach your target audience using those two methods. Note: the below methods represents the above two explained methods.

  3. Using Keywords for targeted banner advertising and targeted display advertising

Keywords targeting is one of the most used methods of targeting audience in digital marketing. most marketers see keywords as the best tactics to target audience because of its track records. Relevant keywords give an insight on how specific web content will be aligned with your campaign. This also suggests if the audience interacting with such web pages will likely be interested in your Ads. Let’s say, for instance, it is obvious that, advertising T-shirt on a fashion Blog will likely result to conversions, more sales because most of the audience visiting that blog will be interested in buying T-shirts.

You may also like

10 Tips for Effective Banner Design and Banner Advertising

The logic behind banner advertising and how it work

4. How can I use Topic to target my audience?

Choosing a specific topic tells Ad Network to show you ads to web pages that are related to your niche. Again let’s use the example of T-shirt and Google, when you chose your topic right, Google Adsense will only deliver your banner ads or display ad to only quality websites, or Blogs that are relates to your chosen topic.

5. Targeted Banner Adverting by Placement

Ad placement using Google gives you the flexibility to choose groups of websites, which have already reserved spaces on waiting to show your Ads to a targeted audience. You have the opportunity to manually chose where your banner ads should appear on specific groups of websites/Blogs to reach your target audience.

Start Banner Advertising today as low as $2 per day and reach your target audience

6. Targeted Banner Advertising by Interest

This is similar to targeting by topic but gives you more flexibility to choose from various categories. this gives you the ability to reach a more targeted audience that has been selected by Ad preference manager. the advance here is, it allows you to sell more as you reach more people.

7. Geo-Targeting Banner Advertising

In simple terms, this is a process of targeting a specific audience based on their geographical location. Terms like Geo-Fencing are similar but a bit different as it does target audience based on their physical visits, monuments, tourist locations, natural reserve sites or simply to specific city evens or visits to competitors stores or businesses. it’s a great way to target audience as you already know what their interests and it’s mostly used in targeted display advertising. Another geo-targeting banner advertising method is Geo-Optimization. this gives the advertiser the opportunity to show banner Ads to the audience in a geographical area using their ZIP code, county, city, state etc). however, this method is best for promotional events and with a broader audience. It allows the advertiser to choose devices of their choice to display ads across.
Targeted banner advertising

8. Banner Advertising Search Retargeting

Just like keywords targeting, this another form of remarketing that allows the advertiser to display banner Ads to an audience that search for particuler keyword phrases. This practice is commonly used to target those audience based on search volumes on certain keywords and how relevant they are to the campaign.

9. How to use Display Advertising Remarketing

This is another effective way of converting your visitors into customers. You can use this strategy to target visitors that abandoned your cart to buy by showing different Ads. This type of Ads could come with a discount that will trigger their emotions and enable them to take action. this is also known as site retargeting because the practice is similar. You basically use the data you collect from your visitors, analyze it and target specific visitors that didn’t take action.

10. Display Advertising Black-Listing and White-Listing

This gives you the opportunity to targets specific group of websites and avoids showing Ads on other specific websites. the white-listing here involves including those websites you wish to show your Ads on. On the other hand, Black-listing involves listing a list of websites you don’t want to show your Ads on. This can be done by because of few reasons, one is that you don’t want the content on those sites or their geographical location and second, you simply don’t want to associate with such brands.

Conclusion

We would have touched on the cost of banner advertising but decided to leave that for the next post. however, we want you all to profit from display advertising as much as possible. This is because the opportunities are endless. We believe all the above methods listed above will contribute massively to making you display advertising a success. If you have been doing digital marketing and have some good experience with banner advertising, please let us know in the comment section. likewise, some of you that are just starting out.
Wishing you good luck with digital advertising from all of us from AdsTargets 🙂