Review of Google Adwords alternatives Ad Networks

Review of Google Adwords alternatives Ad Networks

Google Adwords alternatives ad networks are simply Ad networks with similar features as Google Ads. Basically, these Ad networks offer advertisers the online platform or the advertising technology to create and share Ads of various kinds on either their publisher’s networks, search engines or other partner platforms to reach a vast number of internet users or potential customers.  

It is important for Advertisers to understand how to exploit the benefits of using Google Ads alternatives Ad networks to achieve their online advertising goals. These other ad networks to a larger extent are cheaper, more niche targeted, less competitive, more flexible and geographically targeted and more effective when compared to Google Ads. 

In this post, we focus on Google Adwords alternatives ad networks that all online advertisers should be using to achieve their advertising targets with less cost. But first, lets briefly look at Google Adwords also known as Google Ads.

What is Google Ads?

Google Adwords also known as Google Ads has been around for 17 years now. Google Adwords is an online advertising platform designed and managed by Google which offers various advertising solutions to advertisers in various forms. The name has just been changed from Google Adwords to Google Adwords which took effect as of July 24, 2018.

It will be fair to say that, Google Adwords has the largest share of internet advertising providing all sought of advertisings to internet marketers on the most popular platforms such as Youtube and DoubleClick all belonging to Google Ads. The platform is the main source of Google revenue over the years, In 2017, Google Adwords brought about 95.4 billion dollars in revenue for Google making it the largest advertising platform on earth.

Google Adwords also known as Google Ads offers advertisers various pricing models which include, Cost per click (CPC), Cost per 1000 impressions (CPM) and Cost per acquisition (CPA) which can also mean Cost action (CPA), Cost per conversion (CPC). Most of Google Adwords pricing model is based on biding where the highest bidder wins on certain keywords as specified by the advertiser’s campaign cost settings

Google Adwords targeting is vast as it covers local Ads, national and international Ads depending on the advertiser’s preference. They recently upgraded their ads format by expanding the Ad features. These advertising formats are displayed on both the Google Display network and the Google Search Network. It allows two headlines with 30 characters each, which replaces the standard of a single headline with 30 characters. The display URL is also replaced with two 15 character paths, not including the root domain.

These are the most important features and changes of the new Google Adwords you need to take into account.

Now let’s move on to the Google Adwords alternatives

AdsTargets Ads

AdsTargets may sound new to you but you definitely need to know what it has to offer before thinking of the Ad giants. AdsTargets Ad Network offers advertisers across the world the opportunity to take their products and services to the right customers. AdsTargets provide one of the most flexible advertising platforms for advertisers to reach only the right people.

AdsTargets Ads

AdsTargets Ads are served to thousands of websites and Blogs just like Google Adsense. The networks offer keywords targeting while the same time their system automatically scales and optimize advertisers Ads to appear only to the right customers.

AdsTarget also cares about fraud clicks and has implemented one of the best advertising fraud systems to protect advertisers from losing their Advertising budget. As an online advertiser. You should jump right now to AdsTargets advertiser’s registration and start showing Banner Ads, Text Ads, Interstitial Ads, In-App Ads to reach your customers with cheap and effective Ads. 

Start Advertising with AdsTargets Today!!

Facebook Ads

Facebook Ads is no doubt in our review of Google Adwords alternatives Ad Networks the second largest advertising platform online. Facebook the social media giant has grown in size and numbers as it covers almost every part of the world and used by over two billion people.

Facebook Ads as Google Adwords alternatives

As Facebook grows, It has developed one of the most effective advertising technology that is admired by many advertisers online. Facebook Ads evolved to become its main source of revenue bringing in 40.653 billions of dollars in 2017.

Facebook Ads has one of the best trackings and remarketing strategies which allows advertisers to reach their specific target audience by interest, age, gender, location, relationship status, work etc. Unlike Google Ads, Facebook Ads do not use text Ads format but rather use videos, photos which are added to Facebook posts or created in various forms of Facebook advertising like lead generation, conversion Ads etc. 

Facebook Ads are displed on several Facebook-owned networks such as Instagram, Facebook feeds which shows on all mobile devices and desktop devices. The flexibility and tools that come with Facebook Ads enable advertisers to achieve their goals by setting the duration, preferred daily, monthly budgets, the nature of Ads and also to modify their audience based on their preference.  

Bing / Yahoo Ads

Bing and Yahoo Ads from Microsoft has also occupied a share of the advertising industry over the years. Their growth has been steady and upward which is shown in their increment of advertising revenue year by year. Bing Ads and Yahoo Ads joined forces together to compete more effectively with Google Ads. 

Yahoo Bing Ads

These two Ad Networks work hand in hand which each other showing Ads on both platforms and their partner networks such as Media.net. Ad advertiser with Bing and easily create and show Ads on Yahoo Ad Networks and vice-versa for Yahoo Ads.

Bing Ads is a really good alternative for Google Adwords as it shows Ads for both search engines of Bing and Yahoo. These two Advertising giants are a force for good even though they are not a cheaper alternative to Google Ads but can offer almost all advertising solutions offered by Google Ads.

Yahoo Gemini

Welcome to Yahoo Gemini

Yahoo Gemini is another powerful advertising giant that combines search and native advertising to boost advertisers advertising experience. Yahoo Gemini offers online advertisers the opportunity to drive traffic to their website, raise brand awareness, promote their Apps, and increase online sales.

Yahoo Gemini Ad formats

Yahoo Gemini Ad formats

The Ad network is powered and managed by Yahoo which controls a large share of the search engine and email markets. Yahoo Gemini advertising platform is massive in numbers with over 2 billion Ad impressions per day, 1 billion active users and 165 billion intent signals per day. This is worth trying for an advertiser.

Yahoo Gemini also offers advertisers various targeting and advertising options. Yahoo Gemini Ad formats are search ads, Image Ads, Video Ads, App installs Ads, Tumblr-sponsored posts, Native carousel ads and Mail Ads. 

Amazon Product Ads

There is no denying that with over 312 million active users and almost 100 million prime users in the USA, Amazon is the biggest e-retailer worldwide. Amazon net sales in 2017 alone was 177.86 billion dollars making it one of the most valued companies in the world.

Amazon Ads

This is another massive Google Adwords alternatives. However, this works with e-commerce merchants. Probably Amazon product Ads has the biggest share of this market. If you are selling products online, you may want to try Amazone sponsored products Ads to increase your sales.  

Amazon product Ads gives advertisers the opportunity to set their campaigns using specific keywords to attract a target audience. Those ads are displayed on top of the search results, or within search results and on product detail pages. They also show those Ads on both mobile devices (mobile phones and tablet browsers).

To benefit the most from Amazone sponsored Ads, it will be in your best interest to create those Ads within the Amazon seller platform and then setting specific keywords that are most relevant to your products. This practice will drive specific traffic to your products while increasing your sales. 

LinkedIn Ads

LinkedIn Ads is one of the most underutilized and underestimated advertising platforms by online advertisers. LinkedIn has the potentials to take advertisers business to the next level with over 560 million active professionals, you can reach your target audience by their job title, Industry, function, company, and their seniority etc.

LinkedIn Ads

LinkedIn Ads offers advertisers the opportunities to scare down their targeting and reach specific networks of professionals which helps save advertising cost and increased conversion rates. In addition, LinkedIn Ads offers advertisers the necessary tools to retarget or re-engage website visitors, Contact targeting by emails and account targets with account-based marketing. 

LinkedIn is a powerful advertising tool advertisers should definitely take into account. With over 560 million active professionals, 73 million senior-level influencers, 45 million decision makers and 8.2 C-level executives, your campaigns will surely reach the right people if your targeting is done right. 

Why should online advertisers use Google Adwords alternatives?

Using Google Adwords alternative Ad Networks will surely have a positive outcome for your online advertising experience. Let’s just say putting your eggs in one basket is not a wise idea, but apart from that, there is a lot to gain while exploiting other advertising platforms. Here are just a few benefits you will get from using Google Ads also known as Google Adwords alternatives

  • Cheaper campaigns from Google Adwords alternatives
  • More Targeting power in other Advertising Networks 
  • More control of Ads data while using Google Adwords alternatives
  • Reach Specific and target audience using different targeting options provided by other ad Networks 
  • Have a backup in case something goals wrong with Google Ads or your Google Adwords account.
  • Reach more and a wider audience

Use those Google Adwords alternatives for a better overall performance of your online advertising

Conclusions

All the above-discussed Ad networks have specific tools that work best in their advertising fields. Each of the potentials to reach a specific audience in different niches. It all comes down to the advertiser to research and know their potential customers are spending more time and target them using one of the above Ad Networks. 

As usual, We would like to hear your opinions, experiences about Google Adwords alternatives. Let us know in the comment section your suggestions on what to improve, remove or Add in the post.   

Good luck with online advertising 🙂 

How to Calculate Your Advertising Cost and  Advertising ROI

How to Calculate Your Advertising Cost and Advertising ROI

Advertising cost calculator is what you need before jumping into online advertising campaign of any sought. Unfortunately, many business owners and companies struggle with it. Understanding how to calculate your advertising cost will determine how much you need to spend on a particular campaign and the profit that will come with those Ads. The benefits that comes with effective advertising cost calculation are many and determine how much you need to spend to break even point on your yearly advertising budget. 

In this post, we are going to discuss all the strategies you need to effectively determine your advertising cost and your advertising ROI from each of your advertising campaigns. having said that, let’s jump into it.

First, we are going to start with the basic definitions of the key terms to make things easy for you to understand.

What is advertising cost calculator? 

Advertising cost calculator is a simple tool that helps both individuals and businesses to calculate their actual advertising cost for a certain fiscal year in order to determine how much money they have actually spent or will spend on subsequent advertising campaigns. These tools are also capable of making projections on the possible ROI which most consider as the profit from those advertising campaigns.

In addition, when calculating advertising cost, one must take into consideration the following.

  • The projected budget for the Advertising
  • The expected CPC and CPM costs e.g ($2 per CPC and $5 per CPM)
  • The targeted conversion rate of the advertising campaign
  • The average sale price of products and how each customer worth
  • The conversion rate (What percentage of those customers will be converted)

The final results of these projections will be summarized into the number of clicks, the number leads, the actual cost of CPC and CPM, the click-through rates (CTRs) etc. Those projections will help a business systematically enhance their advertising strategy. 

What is Advertising cost? 

In the most simple terms, we define cost as the total monetary value or the amount of money expended to acquire goods or services. In business, costs are assigned to various goods and services acquired by a business over time to determine the true value of those products and their expected value or depreciation over a period of time. consequently, we define the advertising cost here as..

Advertising cost is the amount of money a business or an individual spent on advertising campaigns over a period of time. For instance, a particular business may assign or budget $5,000 for Facebook advertising, $6,000 for Google Advertising and maybe $3,000 for TV and Radio advertising all in a one-year advertising budget. 

Summing all that up will give you the total amount the company is willing to spend on advertising in that fiscal year which will be as follows ($5,000 + $6,000 + $3,000  = $14,000). Now, $14,000 here is considered the advertising cost the company is willing to invest in advertising in one year.   

You may also like to read: Top tips for effective mobile advertising

what is Advertising ROI?

Wikipedia defined Return on investment (ROI) as the ratio between the net profit and cost of investment resulting from an investment of some resources. In other words, ROI is basically Return On Investment. The makes Advertising ROI the return on investment of the money spend on advertising.

Even though you may see or hear of ROI many times but it simply means “what you get from an investment” It may be seen by many as the profit derived from a particular investment while others may see it as the net profit you get after deducting the total amount of the investment cost in a particular project or an advertising. 

How is ROI Calculated? 

There is one formula used in calculating return on investment mostly everywhere. This is because ROI is an internationally recognized and used indicator to evaluate the gain on investment both in small and big businesses. To some extent let’s say investment projects are declared successful only when their ROI is evaluated and determined. 

Return on investment, or ROI, is the ratio of a profit or loss made in a fiscal year expressed in terms of an investment and shown as a percentage of increase or decrease in the value of the investment during the year in question. The basic formula for ROI is: ROI = Net Profit / Total Investment * 100. Or you can use the following ROI formula

 

Calculating advertising cost ROI

How to calculate adverting ROI

So now you know the basic formula to calculate ROI. we will now proceed to show you how you can actually calculate your ROI on advertising.

Using the same figures we used previously, ($5,000 + $6,000 + $3,000  = $14,000). We can calculate this in a simple way to determine the actual Return on Investment of the $14,000. Since we don’t have the net profit along with the $14,000 advertising cost, we can only assume that after spending $14,000, We gain $67,000 in revenue. 

The $67,000 gained from advertising on the various forum was able to increase our revenue by $67,000. Now having this figure, we calculate the advertising ROI as follows. First, we say $67,000 – $14,000 = $53,000 which now becomes our Net profit. Now let’s take the Net profit of $53,000 / $14,000 * %100 = %378.571 ROI. In this case, our ROI is %378.571. This is how most online advertising campaigns ROI is calculated.

Start profitable advertising with us today!! Join now and get $5 for every $35 you deposit!

Now I believe you have a full understanding of ROI and calculating ROI. The most important thing you need to know is that when it comes to advertising in the business perspective, we calculate things a bit different from the business perspective to truly arrive at the cost of advertising and the true advertising ROI. This simply means that we have to consider other costs involved such like the cost of goods sold, our fixed cost and deduct that from the initial ROI.

We demonstrate how this is actually calculated using Jeff Sauer’s example in the image below

ROI and Advertising cost calculator

AdsTargets advertising cost and ROI calculation

Calculating cost per click CPC ROI campaigns

Calculating ROI on CPC campaigns is simple but first, you need to determine the cost of the CPC. In this case, let’s say you agree to pay $0.50 per each click on your Google or Facebook Ads, On that particular campaign you end up have about 2,000 clicks for the entire campaign of one week. 

Now, you will simply have to multiply $0.50 by 2,000 which will give you $1000. $1,000 here is the cost of this particular CPC campaign. So, after spending $1,000 running your campaign, you were able to make sales worth $10,000 within that week. Having these figures will make things easy for you to determine the ROI of this CPC campaign and this is how you will get that. 

First, Input the revenue generated during the campaign which is $10,000, deduct the cost of running the Ad which is $2,000 and you will arrive at $8,000. Now, in many cases, some marketers will consider $8,000 as the ROI on this campaign. However, In the business world, you are far from the true ROI.

The true ROI of this campaign will be calculated by taking the $8,000 which is the net profit and deduct the cost $2,000 and then dividing by the initial cost of the CPC ad which is $2,000. The answer here is always expressed in percent as you will have to multiply your answer by %100.

Also, You will have to consider deducting other expenses that come with the Ads such as the advertising agency that help you run the Ads, cost of goods sold etc. this will help in giving more accurate ROI of your campaigns  

Calculating CPM cost per 1000 impressions ROI

Using simple Advertising cost calculator will help you calculate CPM ROI. The application of the same method and formula applied in the CPC above. The difference is that CPM ads costs are based on 1000 impressions or 1000 views per the agreed amount. It might be that you agreed to pay $5 per every 1000 impressions or views during the advertising campaign.

So, if you end up getting 200,000 impressions per one-week ad campaign, you will have to multiply 200,000 impressions by $5 which will give you the cost of $1,000. Take into account that $5 is for every 1000 impressions or views. Understand how to calculate that will enable you to apply the above formula and determine your true ROI on your CPM campaign.

How to calculate Profit from the advertising campaign

Many marketers use online advertising cost calculators to determine their profit from advertising. However, many of those Advertising cost calculators have very basic formulas that only subtract the cost of advertising from the revenue generated during those Ads. This method does not give an accurate representation of the situation. 

It only shows the net profit derived from that Ad campaign. The best way to determine the profit generated from a particular advertising campaign would be to consider all the cost associated with the ad campaign. Costs such as the cost of goods sold, fixed cost, cost of service rendered, the cost of advertising agencies if any etc. All these costs need to be deducted from the net profit generated from the Ad campaigns.

Using the above ROI formula will help a long way in determining the actual cost profit and ROI on advertising campaigns.

How to profit from Advertising

Must companies advertise to increase their profit margins. However, very often you found out that is not the case, even though some advertise for exposure, the long-term goal is to attract customers and expand their sales in order to increase their revenue and profit.

Now that you understand how important profit is to advertising, how do you profit from advertising should be the main focus of your advertising? Below we outline a few but effective tips you need to profit from your advertising.

  • Reseach and know which platform your target audience are spending most of their time
  • Determine your Advertising budget and duration you will run your Ads
  • Determine your desired cost per CPM and CPC and make sure is always average or below average
  • Customize your Ads to show on specific devices, time and location 
  • Always monitor your Click through rate (CTR) to make sure is above average

The above-listed tips will reduce unnecessary cost and deliver your ads to only your potential customers. This will increase your conversion rate, increase your sales and ultimately your profit. See some more tips in the video below.

Conclusions

Advertising can be potentially profitable for businesses if only it’s done right. The profitability is determined only when the true ROI is known. We encourage all advertisers to take this serious and always make sure they calculate their advertising ROI before carrying on with their Advertising campaigns. If you have other tips on how to improve advertising profits, please let us know in the comment section of this post.  

Review of Top Ad Networks for Publishers

Review of Top Ad Networks for Publishers

Top Ad Networks for publishers are characterized by their track records and how satisfied publishers are working with them. There are hundreds of Ad Networks for publishers in every corner of the globe.

The number of Ad networks for publishers has skyrocketed in the past ten years. These Ad Networks have however used different Ad formats and different payment and pricing models with specific requirements for publishers.

The differences that exist among these Ad networks makes it difficult for some publishers to be accepted. In most cases, publishers are rejected because they do not meet the requirements of those Ad Networks or simply apply to the wrong Ad networks.

Understanding these problems, we decided to review the top Ad networks for publishers including their pricing models and other valuable information to help you make the right choices when choosing an Ad network to monetize your traffic.

Our review of Top Ad Networks for publishers

Now let’s begin the listing work…

1. Google Adsense Ad Network 

I guess it won’t surprise anyone that Google AdSense makes number one on our list of Ad Network for publishers. Google AdSense is known to be the largest and probably the best Ad Network for publishers around the world.

With a massive number of publishers, the Ad Network is run and managed by Google which uses pay per click (PPC) and per-Impression (CPM) pricing model to pay publishers. 

Google Adsense
Google Adsense has almost all Ad types which enable publishers to create Display Ads, Matched content Ads, Responsive Ads, Link rich Unit, Text Ads, Video Ads all in a customizable format and also responsive.

With these capabilities, Adsense did not only manage to become the world most loved Ad network for publishers but also one of the best performing among Ad networks for publishers. see the top performing countries for AdSense below
 

Getting approved by Google Adsense 

One of the most asked questions about Google AdSense is how to get approved by AdSense? It seems to many that getting your website or Blog approved is very difficult which is not necessarily true. Of course, all high standard services have principles and guidelines which applies to AdSense as well. To get approved by AdSense, Here are some few tips

  1. Make sure your content meets Adsense requirements;
  2. Show your site or Blog have spaces for AdSense;
  3.   Make sure the blog or site you are using is your content;
  4. Make sure your content is unique and clean;
  5. Make sure your pages can be navigated easily;
  6. Make your pages mobile friendly;
  7. Your site should comply with content language.

Before signing up for Adsense, please take some time and read these guidelines Before Signing up for AdSense

Google AdSense Best practices

As a publisher using AdSense, there are several things you would like to do in order to maximize your income. Applying the right strategy will massively increase your earning and get you some level of trust and respect while monetizing with AdSense. Here are the best Adsense practices

  1. Experiment with all the Ad units;
  2. Find the best ad placements for your type of site;
  3. Try out the responsive Ad units;
  4. Always create new content as a blogger;
  5. Never stop promoting your blogs and website;
  6. optimize your content for SEO.

Want to read more on how to make more money with AdSense, follow these step by step Google AdSense best practices.

The logic behind banner advertising and how it work

Google Adsense payment threshold

Google Adsense threshold is $100 for the first withdrawal. Before your first payment, You will have to Add your bank account and verify your address before your first payment will be deposited once you reach the threshold.

2. AdsTargets Ad Network

AdsTargets Ad Network is a CPC and CPM online advertising technology for advertisers and Publishers. The aim of the Ad Network is to become the most desired Ad network for advertisers and publishers. AdsTargets offers one of the best advertising and monetizing technologies in the market.

AdsTargets home page

It offers both cost per click (CPC) also known as pay per click (PPC), CPM = cost per a 1000 impressions and their ads are servers across desktop and mobile devices globally. Advertiser and publishers can advertise and monetize using their vast ad units such as Banner Ads, Text Ads, Interstitial Ads also known as full-screen Ads, Retarget Ads, and In-App Ads.

AdsTargets just like other Top Ad Networks for publishers has few requirements for qualified publishers. Don’t be scared its anything to worry about! AdsTargets require publishers applying to monetize their website or blog to have reasonable content and should be updated regularly. 

Secondary, As a publisher, your content should not have or include content that is related to violence, drugs, racism and any form of illegal activities and discrimination. Refer to Publisher terms during application for more details. Website and blog with such content will not be approved by AdsTargets.

AdsTargets Accept members from all over the world and currently in eighty-seven countries.  

AdsTargets Best practices

Ad a publisher, You may want to make the most out of your content, that is making money as much as you can while monetizing. If you agree with this statement then here are few things you would like to implement to maximize your earnings at Adstargets 

  1. Most use the 300×250, 728×90 Banner, and Text Ads
  2. Two Ads par page will give you a better chance
  3. 728×90 should be placed at the header and 300×250 at the right or left side widgets
  4. Other ad units work well in the body and bellow sections
  5. Always create new content as a blogger
  6. Never stop promoting your blogs and website
  7. optimize your content for SEO

Adstargets was created after several years of experimental studies done by interviewing top advertisers and publishers around the world. The founder took the complaints from both sides and worked tirelessly to create a platform that could finally offer the desired value for advertisers budget while at the same time making sure publishers are paid the maximum earning commissions they deserve.

AdsTargets Payment threshold

AdsTargets Payment threshold is only $35. AdsTargets pay publishers through Paypal and wire transfers.

AdsTargets advertising technology is capable of automatically scaling and optimizing advertisers Ads to reach the right people only while they also pay over 80% commission of the Advertising revenue to publishers. This makes AdsTarget one of the top ad networks for publishers globally. Even though they are new to the market. 

Start Monetizing at AdsTargets Today!

AdsTargets Review: Here is what other Publishers are saying about AdsTargets

3. AdMob by Google

AdMob by Google made our list of Top Ad Networks for Publishers. This is because AdMob is simply the biggest App monetizing Ad network in the market currently. AdMob is own by Google and covers the largest share of  In-App advertising. Ad run Native Ads, Video Ads, Interstitials full page Ads, and Banner Ads. Admob is available for IOS, Android Unity, and Cocos applications.

Google AdMob

To prove AdMob is the biggest and probably the most preferred by publishers and advertisers, let me break down the figures for you. AdMob currently has over 1 million App using AdMob, Admob has paid out to their publishers over $3.5 billion since the July of 2012, AdMob also increased their CPMs almost or more than 200%, They get over 200 billion global Ad request every day and last but not the lease, they have over 1,000,000 advertiser. see the photo below for more details

Google AdMob in figures

Now that you understand what Admob is all about, here are the few benefits you will get as an App developer willing to make money monetizing with them.

AdMob Benefits for App developers

  1. Google Ad technologies is considered by many as the best in the industry
  2. You can run Ads on across multiple platforms
  3. Auto update on Google play
  4. Fast payments without extra charges
  5. Great analytical and firebase for your campaigns
  6. You will have the ability to choose the right Ad units for your App
  7. You have the flexibility to filter out Ads you don’t want on your App
  8. You will be able to earn the highest Advertising CPM rates
  9. You will always have relevant Ads to show
  10. You will have access to all Google advertisers

Admob best performing Ads

When it comes to making the most money with Admod, the secret is knowing which Ads units are making you the most money. Admob claim the Native Ads and the video Ads. you will have that in mind when once you are ready to start monetizing your Apps.

4. Media.net Ad Network for Publishers

Media.net is number four on our list of top ad networks for publishers. No doubt the company has taken a large share of the advertising market. media.net has over 500,000 publishers websites, more than 70 million paid clicks each month, they have an estimated over 87 billion display Ads impressions per month according to their About page as at 10th 08 2018.

Media.net

With the above figures, its fair to say Media.net is massive and obviously in the top five list of top ad networks for publishers. Media.net was created to Run Yahoo and Bing Ads and was very successful doing that, some their top publishers include  Hearst, Meredith, Forbes, Yahoo, MSN,  Kiplinger, Reuters, The Street, Ziff Davis, NY Daily News and many more giant publishers in the advertising market.

Media.net biggest share of the market comes from the USA with over 90%, the UK and Canada only 5% while the rest of the world has only 5%. By device, Mobile got 63% while desktop got the rest 38%. The company has over 1300 employees and its headquarters in Dubai. More about Media.net can be found here

Media.net Ad types

Media.net net is known for contextual ads, Native Ads which they run on desktop and mobile devices. They also run a great deal of banner Ads and Interstitials also known as full-screen Ads.

Getting Approved by Media.net as a publisher

Even though the Ad tech giant did not specifically specify their publisher requirements, they approve sites with high-quality content and also a website that updates their content regularly. here we lay down few tips for getting approved by media.net

  1. Your content should be in English
  2. Update your content regularly
  3. Avoid content with violence, racism, drugs and other illegal activities as such will fail to get approval
  4. Show you have some space for running Ads on your website or blog

This brought us to the conclusion of the top ad networks for publishers.

Media.net Minimum payment threshold 

Media.net payment threshold is $100. They pay their publishers through PayPal and wire transfers.

Conclusions

We know this list might short when compared with a similar post, the reason is that we don’t just want to create a list of affiliate list of Ad networks like most others do, instead, we focus on bringing you the best list of ad networks for publishers based on their track records. we hope you find it useful and also tell us what you think about this post in the comment section.

Top tips for effective mobile advertising campaign

Top tips for effective mobile advertising campaign

Mobile advertising has become one of the most desires advertising platform for internet marketers. Due to the recent developments in online advertising,  markets have seen the mobile advertising as huge potentials for getting their target customers. However, not all mobile advertising campaigns are done right due to lack of knowledge by some marketers.

Mobile advertising is expected to hit seven (7) billion dollars in 2019. hence it has become one of the most desires advertising platform for internet marketers. Due to the recent developments in online advertising,  markets have seen the mobile advertising as huge potentials for getting their target customers. However, not all mobile advertising campaigns are done right due to lack of knowledge by some marketers.

With recent shifts in online advertising, it is necessary for marketers to acknowledge how essential mobile advertising has become. Google figure shows that the number of searches online has exceeded desktop. another interesting report by “We are Social” indicates that the number of mobile subscription in the UK hovers around 74.92 million making it a whopping 115% of the total population of UK.

There is also a massive increment in the number of mobile advertising campaigns in the recent years, all these confirm the importance of mobile advertising which makes it necessary for marketers to do it right which is why we decided to outline step-by-step process on how to create effective mobile advertising campaigns.

Make sure you use mobile-friendly ad formats

Using mobile friendly Ad format is the key for successful mobile advertising, As a marketer, you must know that images have a great look on the mobile phone, taking into account your mobile Ads has to fit perfect on all mobile sizes will be a great way to start your campaigns. consider design Ads that will align with all smartphone screens.

We can stress this enough, this is because it is important for your campaign to be seen on all mobile screens, not just a few. the more mobile phones can access your campaigns the better for your campaign. take this seriously.

Check out these mobile advertising Ad formats in the video below

Make sure users can opt-out quickly

Make it easy for users that are not interested in your Ads to opt-out easily to ensure you respect them. If you have to understand mobile phones are meant for personal stuff either message is sending or receiving calls or do another searching on devices. Brand repute comes first and all of this can be achieved by respecting a potential customer’s decision if they want to dismiss your ads. Putting a cross on noticeable and easy to access location gives freedom to the customer.

Do try to personalize your ads

Up to date data from Quant cast explains mobile advertising should be more relevant for consumers. For example, Retail advertisers should consider personalization or customization factor in their advertising campaigns. For Facebook’s audience using RLSA in Ad words and Google will be a plus point for the advertiser as this will helps to target customers in shopping campaigns. Some great SEM Solutions are also available in the market for help if it becomes overpowering for someone.

Try out mobile video advertising

Expenses on Video advertising hit $20.72 billion in 2016; this trend shows the positive impact of videos in mobile advertising. According to a survey, 90% of online customers find videos as helpful material to final their buying decisions, this means larger screens promote videos more than ever this year. So, if the budget allows then, retailers should consider e-channel for their promotions.

Take a look at these mobile video ads format

Choose the right metrics

Before evaluation of mobile advertising performance, one should consider that on mobile devices clicks are more often accidentally happened. So, one should positively discriminate interaction rates or time spent on ads as critical metrics for analyzing the data.

Go Omnichannel

Giving the same attention to the main website will help the customer to find the way for their purchase quickly. Some user does an extensive search for making a purchase order, and some don’t bother and just ready to buy from mobile. Targeting customer preference by ensuring your website is easily navigated is the key to success. Consistent familiarity is the key to an Omni-channel strategy for all devices.

How to target mobile ads by location?

Make sure to activate geolocalisation option if your products are for specific countries, by enabling this tab you will always get right audience for your ads. There are many channels which allow you to specify your location target to precisely target your customers such as Adwords, Google Shopping, and Facebook are some examples.

How to control mobile ads frequency?

The timing of ads impacts both positively and negatively. Generally, brand awareness, a specific time frame is suitable in which people are watching your ads but seeing ads, again and again, is not an ethical principle.  Users should see the ads after some interval, so they develop some interest in your ads. Users, not responding to your advertising should see less number of your ads as this strategy may become pricey in the long term.

Make sure your Landing pages relevant

Do make sure that landing pages are mobile-friendly for your potential customers to browse when they clicked on your ads. Correlating landing pages with actions will give you more customers. E.g., if you advertise flip-flop, then the user must see these items on landing pages as quickly as possible rather than tons of summer clothing items.

Experiment mobile ads with different formats

Playing with different formats in mobile advertising can affect your campaign. Formats should be co-linked with your strategy and objectives. Experimenting with videos, natives, banners and interstitial mobile advertising gives you positive response as there is no saying to stick on one format.

Here is a video explaining what is mobile advertising

How should you choose a mobile advertising platform?

Before choosing a platform for advertising, one should analyze the targeted customers as there are many platforms but to select the right platform is the key to success.

1. Search engine advertising

Ideally, Google AdWords (or Google Ad word Express for Small Business) is the best choice for those who are familiar with this port. As this engine provides all customization options for advertiser either its location base or time base, time and days, etc option are also available on this platform. For mobile advertising Google Adwords is manifest.

2. Mobile advertising on social platforms

Another way for effective advertising is to use social media. Twitter, Facebook or Instagram are the primary channels for social networking. Those who are familiar know the positive impact of these channels. Social networks successfully adapt this strategy for targeting customer majority; even Facebook also launched full screen and Canvas advertising medium to make it more interactive for both of client and advertiser.

3. Using an ad platform to advertise on mobile

Adsterra, Adstage, and Undertone are some renowned platforms for advertisement who offer more features for your advertisement which are unavailable on other platforms. They take the groundwork for your advertising and offers enhanced features. For example, Adbrite is the one who reduces cost and through its feature calling “click assurance” enables clicks verification by prompting users for accidental clicks which eventually improves the traffic quality of your ads.

Conclusion

It is most likely some of you have engaged in mobile advertising campaigns before or either thinking of starting mobile advertising. Neither ways, share your experience in the comment section to help others or even suggest ways we can improve this article if you feel you can. We wish you good luck with your mobile advertising campaigns.

Advertising Networks Frequently Asked Questions

Advertising Networks Frequently Asked Questions

Advertising NetworksThe world of advertising has many ups and downs but most importantly, it has been known to be extremely beneficial for marketers around the world. For newbies, Advertising is nothing short of an industry that is riddled with complected terms. these terms make it difficult to understand the differences between Advertising Networks and how to use them effectively. It is the duty of experts within the industry to make it easy for Advertisers and Publishers to understand the key terms and how to use them effectively. In this article, we state and describe all the types of advertising Networks.
What is Advertising Networks?

What is Advertising Networks?

Advertising Networks which is also known as “Ad Network” are online advertising technologies that make it easy for Advertisers to create and distribute Ads to publishers Ad spaces. this simple means, Advertising Network simply connects Advertisers and Publishers for easy advertising and monetization. One could simply say, the main function of Ad Network is to aggregate publishers inventory to fit advertisers demand. On the other hand, Advertising Networks provide advantages to advertisers as it enables them to create and target their Ads to a specific audience while at the same time, advertisers can track their results through impressions and clicks, video average watch time. The flexibility the system provides for publishers and advertisers is the simply the connection that benefits each party.

You May also like: Defining What is Ad Network and how it Works

What is Mobile Ad Networks?

Mobile Ad Networks work just like any other typical Ad Network, the difference is that these type of Ad Networks put more emphases in targeting only mobile traffic, these traffic are traffic that is generated only from mobile Apps, Mobile search results, mobile display Ads etc. The advertising industry has seen a massive change since mobile phones became smarter, the advertising industry has done a great job utilizing mobile device users and the results are fantastic. Mobile Ad Networks give advertisers to target specific mobile audience. For instance, markets advertising Apps could use mobile Ad Networks to target only mobile user who is mostly potential customers. it makes sense to use mobile ad networks as all types of ads can be displayed or shown on mobile devices such as banner ads, text ads, interstitial ads, In-App Ads etc.

The video below gives a very detailed explanation of the advertising ecosystem

What is PPC Ad Networks?

Pay per click (PPC) which is also known as Cost per click (CPC) is basically an Internet or digital advertising model used by Advertising Networks. This makes PPC Ad Networks be Ad Networks that specifically use only PPC pricing model for their adverting. It is one of the most used advertising price models which is easily understood by advertisers and some can argue it is the most preferred pricing model used by both advertising networks and advertisers. PPC advertising model comes in two different types: The Flat rate PPC and Bid-based PPC

The Flat rate PPC: This model of pricing specifies that the advertisers and the Ad network or the Publisher agrees on a flat rate price per clicks generated. For instance, the advertiser and the publishers may agree on 0.5 per each click generated. In some cases, Ad Networks or the publisher will charge based on each Ad space on the webpage.

Bid-based PPC: In this model, several advertisers compete against each other in an auctioning system hosted by the Ad network. The advertisers set the maximum amount they are willing to pay for each specific ad position on the publisher’s web pages. Keywords are often used to enhance the target while the auctioning system is triggered automatically each time a visitor triggers the ad position or spot.

What is CPM Ad Networks?

First I will like to explain what is CPM in the simplest way, Cost per impression (CPI), also known as Cost per thousand impressions (CPM) is an advertising pricing model which pays the publisher a fixed amount for every 1000 impressions or page-views generated. After understanding what CPM is, it will be easier to understand what CPM Ad Networks is which is, Ad Networks what specifically use this type of pricing method for both advertisers and publishers. Some publishers prefer this pricing model due to its flexibility. The calculation of CPM is taken from the set advertising cost and the number of impressions which expressed as Cost per impression ($) = Advertising cost ($) / Number of Impressions (#).

For example:

  1. Total cost for running the ad is $15,000.
  2. The total estimated audience is 2,400,000 people.
  3. ($15,000/2,400,000) = $0.00625
  4. CPM is calculated as: $0.00625 x 1000 (meaning per thousand impressions) = $6.25

What is eCPM?

Effective Cost Per Mille (eCPM) is a measurement system used by advertisers, Advertising Networks and Publishers to estimate the actual value of advertising cost. eCPM is calculated in the following manner: Cost-per-Click (CPC) auction calculated by multiplying the CPC times the click-through rate (CTR), and multiplying that by one thousand. (Represented by: (CPC x CTR) x 1000 = eCPM.).

Example

  • There are two banners: “Curious Apps” and “Sensor Apps”.
  • The publishers earn $1 per click.
  • Both banners were published for the duration of one week.
  • “Curious Apps” was viewed by 5000 visitors from which 20 clicked on it.
  • “Sensor Apps” was viewed by 5000 visitors from which 70 clicked on it.

This shows that:

  1. “Curious Apps” has an eCPM of $7 ($1 * 20/5000) * 1000
  2. “Sensor Apps” has an eCPM of $20 ($1 * 70/5000) * 1000

What is Video Ad Networks?

Video Ad Networks are Ad Networks that specifically sell online video inventory across multiple platforms and devices. These Ad Networks focus online video ads which mostly display before the main video is played also known as “Display video Ads” online video advertising comes in different forms: in-stream, out-stream, interactive, in-game and webpage based videos, creating video messaging before, during, and after consumers take in content on their mobile devices or desktop. Video advertising allows Internet marketers to engage their audience with engaging video ads in very effective ways. YouTube is the biggest video Advertising platform on the Internet while several other Ad Networks are also grabbing the share of the market. Video Ad Networks also use CPC and CPM methods for video advertising.

What is Banner Ad Networks?

To answer this we first have to understand what is banner advertising. Banner advertising refers to the use of a rectangular graphic display that comes in various forms and places on top, bottom or sides of a web-page. Now that you understand what is banner advertising, let’s jump into Banner Ad Networks: these are Ad networks that include banners in their Ad units. publishers or advertisers will be able to place ads in various banner sizes and formats of their choices while publishers also will be able to monetize with various banner sizes and formats from such Ad Networks. Many Ad Networks have banner advertising as part of their Ad units and ad inventory.

Start Advertising with us today as low as $2 Per day

What is Native Ad Networks?

First let’s look at what is native advertising: I would make this simple for you to understand, Native advertising is simply placing Ads on the platforms that match the content of the Ads. Thus, putting ads on content that matches the ads with the intent to target a specific audience. A typical example of this may display video ads on videos that are related to the ad video or putting sports equipment ads on sports blogs or advertising new cars on car review YouTube channels or car review websites and blogs.

What is Ad Exchange Networks?

Lets simply put it as an advertising technology designed to enable the selling and buying of media advertising inventory across multiple Ad Networks. Ad Exchange platforms use a bidding pricing system. This process is entirely technology driven. Some of the most popular Ad exchanges are AppNexus, AOLs Marketplace, Microsoft Ad exchange, OpenX, Rubicon Project Exchange, DoubleClick, and Smaato among many others.

Ad Exchange

What is Interstitial Advertising Networks?

It will be better to understand what is an Interstitial Ad before moving to Interstitial Ad Network. Interstitial Ads also know as the full-screen Ads are ads that cover your screen either on mobile or desktop as soon as you reach a webpage or open an App on your mobile device. These ads are most common in Apps. they are shown mostly between activities or some minutes after interacting with the App. Now that you understand what is an Interstitial Ad, let us define Interstitial Ad Network: These are specific Ad Networks that deal with interstitial ads as part of their Ad inventory. A lot of Ad Networks are beginning to offer advertisers and publishers the opportunity to advertise and monetize with interstitial Ads.

How do I know my Advertising Cost and ROI?

Understanding how to calculate your Advertising cost will definitely help you go a long way in your online advertising. You will be in a better position to know your advertising ROI and also make better decisions on your subsequent advertising. Here is a post that clearly shows you how to calculate your advertising cost and ROI

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Conclusion

These are some of the most asked questions by newbies in the advertising industry. we understand there more than a hundred questions that needed answers but can’t put all of them here in this list. however, we will be happy to know from you which questions you would want us to answer and add to this list. let us know your suggestions in the comment section below.

Defining What is Ad Network and how it Works

Defining What is Ad Network and how it Works

Online Ad network can be defined as a digital platform, created with the sole purpose of serving Ads to registered publishers. Those registered publishers are websites and Blog owners willing to earn some revenue from displaying Ads. It’s a simple concept that is aimed at connecting the advertiser to bloggers and website owners willing to show those ads on their web pages. In other words, “Ad Network” facilitate the connection between the advertisers willing to buy available Ad spaces (Inventory) from a group of publishers in different geographical locations across various categories (Niche).

1. Defining what is an Ad Network

Since the begging of internet marketing which includes online advertising in the early 90s, Ad Networks use to serve as intermediaries between advertisers and publishers. The technology has advanced today with many functions that allow for more advertising optimization and targeting tools to reach more target audience. However, There are always two important parts or groups on every AD network which are the Advertisers and Publishers. The Advertisers are business or individuals willing to promote their products or services online with the hope of getting more traffic and increasing their sales, on the other hand, Publishers are individuals willing to display Ads from particular Ad network to earn some income through their traffic’s clicks and impressions.

You may also like: Advertising Networks Frequently Asked Questions

The advertisers are often the businesses or individuals, they pay to the Ad network, create ads and submit those ads for approval by the Ad network admin. once the Ads are approved, they are shared on the publisher’s web pages. The Ads sharing follows a process and guidelines based on the preference of the publisher. While creating Ads from the Ad network inventory, they select specific Ad based on their location, keywords, and niche. To avoid the confusion, these ad networks include only online advertising and not the traditional advertising media that include television, printed media and radio.

The Pricing model mostly used by Ad networks is CPM, CPC or PPC, CPA etc. Ad Network like AdsTargets offers publishers the ability to create different Ad units like Banner Ads, Text Ads, Interstitial Ads, In App-Ads. Additionally, publishers can choose their preferred device to publish their Ads.

2. What is the difference Between Ad Server and Ad Network

This is one of the most asked questions by newbies in the advertising industry. To clear the confusion, we explain in simple terms what is an Ad server and what is an Ad Network below.

What is An Ad server? In simple terms, it is simply an inventory tracking, monitoring and managing advertising technology used by both Advertisers, publishers and Ad Networks to run and give specific accounts on Advertising campaigns. This is further categorized into two distinct types based on their users. The first one is “First-party Ad server which is mostly used by publishers (A publisher Ad server) while the third party ad server is used by advertisers (An advertiser Ad server). Another term that is widely used is the SSP “Supply-side platform”. This is also a similar technology that offers almost all the functions but a bit different in accessing the inventory and delivery method of distributing Ads which makes it different from the previous two. For more on Ad servers, see the video below.

What is an Ad Network? This is another form of advertising technology but unlike ad server, this technology is mostly used for the management of multiple advertising campaigns which store creatives use during transactions of media purchases between the publisher and advertisers. the next complications after understanding Ad servers and Ad Networks, one will ask how do they work which takes us to the next level.

3. How Does an Ad Network Work?

Just to refresh your memory, An Ad Network work by collecting and listing all the available inventory from publishers and sell them to potential advertisers willing to pay a premium price for them in form of PPC, CPA or CPM.

Here’s How an Ad Network operates

An ad network collects a massive number of publishers to deliver the required amount of inventory to the potential advertisers on a premium price or auction basis.

The Advertisers uses the Ad Network campaign management platform to set up Ads which are then automatically distributed to the publisher’s available inventory. Ad Network offers advertisers the flexibility to create multiple campaigns and consolidate the reporting metrics on the campaign performance.

Also, the advertisers set have the possibilities to set up their campaigns based on their desired prices per clicks, impressions and per action. Targeting through demographics, location, keywords, and budgets are all features offered by Ad Networks to advertisers.

Start Banner Advertising today as low as $2 per day and reach your target audience

Once The Ad networks approve advertisers Ads, Advertisers are allowed to change their banners, Text, and targeting as they please. All these Ad management systems are offered within the Advertiser CPanel (Campaign management panel). No time limits or restrictions are placed as the system are managed online 24/7.

In the early 90s when there were few online advertisers and publishers, Publishers were fine using only one Ad Network to source their available inventory but as internet marketing business became more massive, they figured using multiple ad networks pays better and that’s why today you see most publishers use various ad networks on their inventory spaces which also forced Ad networks to drop their rates. the image below shows the risk associated and rewards when inventory is sold to different ad networks.

Selling Inventory on different Ad Networks4. How Advertisers and Publishers benefit from Ad Networks?

There many ways both advertisers and publishers benefit from Ad Networks. Ad networks serve as a bridge that connects the advertisers and publishers together. This makes marketing and economic sense for all parties but let’s discuss them differently.

Advertisers benefits from Ad networks

When through the primary purpose of Ad Networks is to provide an avenue for publishers to sell their available inventory, they also provide a lot of benefits for Advertisers in the following ways

Scalability: Advertisers have the opportunity to buy many inventories at a time through an Ad network and at the same time, Ad networks provide them the opportunity to monitor and manage their ad campaigns in a centralized system.

Campaign management: It helps advertisers save a lot of time as they are able to manage multiple ads within one system and not moving on many publishers inventory spaces or web pages. This could be the benefits as they reach more audience within one system.

Measurement and Campaign reach: The Advertisers have the ability to manage their measure their campaign performance and adjust them whenever they are pleased. They can adjust their campaigns either by increasing their budgets or targeting. Ad networks also give advertisers the ability to collect data and retarget individuals that visit their web pages.

Publishers Benefits from Ad Networks

The most beneficial factor for publishers using Ad network is to sell their available inventory which was not easy to be sold directory to advertisers or advertising agencies. Ad networks offer such opportunities and in some cases, they are able to make constant income from selling their inventory to ad networks.

5. What are the Targeting possibilities on Ad Networks?

The targeting functionalities offered by Ad Networks are many with many decision-making functions that allow the advertisers to manage their Ad campaigns. the Advertiser Cpanel gives them the opportunity to choose which web traffic is most suitable for their campaign, when to target a specific audience and how to targets them. the following are the targeting criteria offered by Ad Networks RON: Run on all sites in the ad network

    • ROS: Target specific domains/publishers in the ad network
    • IAB categories
    • Geolocation
    • Keywords (context)
    • Time of day
    • Browser type / OS
    • … and many others

    Here some examples of popular ad networks

6. Various Types of Ad Networks

Here we show the different types of Ad networks and their pricing models

  • Premium Ad Networks: These type of Ad networks offer their inventory to the most popular publishers in the market
  • Vertical Ad Networks: These are mostly focused on specific topics such as Technology Ad Network, Business Ad Network, Automotive Ad Network, and Fashion Ad Network etc.
  • Performance and Affiliate Ad Networks: These types primarily use revenue share methods such as the CPC, CPM or CPA pricing models.
  • Inventory-Specific or Specialised Ad Networks: Typically focused on specific types of inventory such as Mobile Apps. Mobile devices, Video, Native Ads etc.

The traditional Ad networks offer the advertiser the benefit to buy a package of impressions on a CPM pricing model.

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7. What is the Difference between Ad Networks and SSPs

Even though these two have similar functions, and serve almost the same purpose, there are still some differences that exist between them in terms of technology, inventory, clients, Ad optimization functions and targeting.

Inventory: SSPs tend to offer real-time bidding (RTB) and buy inventory that is available from the publishers known to be of “lower quality”. While on the other hand, Ad Networks sell their available ad inventory to brands by giving them access to premium and exclusive publishers.

Technology: SSPs functions allow only Ad delivery, the combination of SSP/DSP (demand-side platform) can be considered the partner of ad networks.

Optimization and Targeting: Ad Networks advertisers are allowed to manually target and optimize their campaigns to reach a specific audience. However, the combination of SSP?DSP uses special machine learning technology. SSPs utilizes programmatic technologies to automatically to optimize ads for publishers, Similarly, DSPs also optimize Ad campaign for various brands while allowing them to target specific desired audience.

8. How Ad Network evolved

As the digital advertising market evolved and became more competitive, Ad Networks have engaged in a battle to maintain a significant amount of their share market. they constantly offer more appealing functionalities to attract more publishers and advertisers. because of the competition, marketers are constantly searching for one in all solution. It forces the Ad network increasingly offering the same tools as SSPs which is massively closing the gap between them.

On the other hand, as SSPs also compete for more publishers, they tend to offer functionalities to attract more premium publishers. At the same time, they offer advertisers the opportunity to buy inventory directly which make them similar to Ad networks. SSPs have evolved a lot as they connect advertisers and publishers (the demand and the supply side). It will be self to say they have evolved towards programmatic direct.

This further closes the gap between Ad networks and SSPs. For instance, ad networks’ gradually transcend premium inventory as they integrate programmatic engines that optimize the procured RTB supply. In addition, they are also connecting their own available supply to specific DSPs in a bid to increase fill rates for their portfolio of publishers.

Advertising has evolved a lot in general since the first banner Advertising was publishers in the early 90s. We have experienced very high levels of competition among Ad network as they constantly introduce new advertising functionalities. recently, In-App Ads and push notification Ad format have been introduced which has also seen spikes in advertising budgets. the advertising industry will constantly see changes in the near future.

Conclusion

We have tried to explain most of what you need to know about Ad Networks and how they work for the benefit of the advertisers and publishers, however, we will continue to update this post to bring you more latest information about Ad networks. Feel free to share your experience, observations, and objections in the comment section below.

 

Targeted Banner Advertising – How to Reach Your Audience

We all know targeted banner advertising can be profitable and have high ROI if well managed. The management here entails targeting the right audience. Many brands used banner advertising to generated unique traffic that converts their visitors to customers. E-Commerce giants like Amazon, eBay are typical examples of brands that benefited massively from banner advertising. The trick here is simply targeting the right audience. In this article, we are going to work you through what is targeted banner advertising and targeted display advertising, then show you various ways you can target your audience using the targeted banner and display advertising methods to reach your audience.

1. What is Targeted Banner Advertising?

As the title implies, targeted means channeling your banner Ads to reach only the right audience, by using variables such as demographics (Age, gender, location, race, education status, marital status and language among others). Their online interest and behavior online are as well utilized. More often, this information is collected by using tools such as Google Analytics or Facebook Pixel which track this information after initial testing Ads. Other methods include Facebook Audience Insights.

  2. What is Targeted Display Advertising?

Just like Targeted banner advertising, Targeted display advertising, on the other hand, targeted display advertising involves the use of banners that come in forms of GIF, Static images and HTMLS. This form of digital advertising also targets audience based on their demographics similar to the above listed. audience behavior and interest is also a criterion. However, this form of advertising is charged mostly on CPM bases and not by Cost per click (CPC) or Pay per click (PPC) methods.

Watch the following video for a complete tutorial on display advertising


Having understood what these advertising methods are, let’s jump into the best ways you can reach your target audience using those two methods. Note: the below methods represents the above two explained methods.

  3. Using Keywords for targeted banner advertising and targeted display advertising

Keywords targeting is one of the most used methods of targeting an audience in digital marketing. most marketers see keywords as the best tactics to target audience because of its track records. Relevant keywords give an insight into how specific web content will be aligned with your campaign. This also suggests if the audience interacting with such web pages will likely be interested in your Ads. Let’s say, for instance, it is obvious that, advertising T-shirt on a fashion Blog will likely result to conversions, more sales because most of the audience visiting that blog will be interested in buying T-shirts.

You may also like

10 Tips for Effective Banner Design and Banner Advertising

The logic behind banner advertising and how it work

4. How can I use the Topic to target my audience?

Choosing a specific topic tells Ad Network to show you ads to web pages that are related to your niche. Again let’s use the example of T-shirt and Google, when you chose your topic right, Google Adsense will only deliver your banner ads or display ad to only quality websites, or Blogs that are relates to your chosen topic.

5. Targeted Banner Adverting by Placement

Ad placement using Google gives you the flexibility to choose groups of websites, which have already reserved spaces on waiting to show your Ads to a targeted audience. You have the opportunity to manually chose where your banner ads should appear on specific groups of websites/Blogs to reach your target audience.

Start Banner Advertising today as low as $2 per day and reach your target audience

6. Targeted Banner Advertising by Interest

This is similar to targeting by topic but gives you more flexibility to choose from various categories. this gives you the ability to reach a more targeted audience that has been selected by Ad preference manager. the advance here is, it allows you to sell more as you reach more people.

7. Geo-Targeting Banner Advertising

In simple terms, this is a process of targeting a specific audience based on their geographical location. Terms like Geo-Fencing are similar but a bit different as it does target audience based on their physical visits, monuments, tourist locations, natural reserve sites or simply to specific city evens or visits to competitors stores or businesses. it’s a great way to target an audience as you already know what their interests and it’s mostly used in targeted display advertising. Another geo-targeting banner advertising method is Geo-Optimization. this gives the advertiser the opportunity to show banner Ads to the audience in a geographical area using their ZIP code, county, city, state etc). however, this method is best for promotional events and with a broader audience. It allows the advertiser to choose devices of their choice to display ads across.

Targeted banner advertising

8. Banner Advertising Search Retargeting

Just like keywords targeting, this another form of remarketing that allows the advertiser to display banner Ads to an audience that search for particular keyword phrases. This practice is commonly used to target those audience based on search volumes on certain keywords and how relevant they are to the campaign.

9. How to use Display Advertising Remarketing

This is another effective way of converting your visitors into customers. You can use this strategy to target visitors that abandoned your cart to buy by showing different Ads. This type of Ads could come with a discount that will trigger their emotions and enable them to take action. this is also known as site retargeting because the practice is similar. You basically use the data you collect from your visitors, analyze it and target specific visitors that didn’t take action.

10. Display Advertising Black-Listing and White-Listing

This gives you the opportunity to targets a specific group of websites and avoids showing Ads on other specific websites. the white-listing here involves including those websites you wish to show your Ads on. On the other hand, Black-listing involves listing a list of websites you don’t want to show your Ads on. This can be done by because of few reasons, one is that you don’t want the content on those sites or their geographical location and second, you simply don’t want to associate with such brands.

11. Choosing banner ad networks for advertisers

Now that you have an understanding of how to target your banner campaigns, you need to make the right choice when it comes to choosing the right banner ad networks for advertisers. This will have have a great impact on how your banner advertising result. Our recommendation here is to try out our hassle-free banner advertising ad network meant for cheap and effective targeted banner advertising.

Compare among banner ad networks for advertisers and see which one has the potential of delivering your banner ads to the right audience and a large amount of them. This will also have a huge impact on how your brand is exposed to a wider audience. Also, you need to make sure your choice of ad network is cheap and effective and not so expensive so you can maximize your Ad budget to give you the best results.

Conclusion

We would have touched on the cost of banner advertising but decided to leave that for the next post. however, we want you all to profit from display advertising as much as possible. This is because the opportunities are endless. We believe all the above methods listed above will contribute massively to making you display advertising a success. If you have been doing digital marketing and have some good experience with banner advertising, please let us know in the comment section. likewise, some of you that are just starting out.

Wishing you good luck with digital advertising from all of us from AdsTargets 🙂

Targeted Banner Advertising – How to Reach Your Audience

Targeted Banner Advertising – How to Reach Your Audience

Targeted display advertising
We all know targeted banner advertising can be profitable and have high ROI if well managed. The management here entails targeting the right audience. Many brands used banner advertising to generated unique traffic that converts their visitors to customers. E-Commerce giants like Amazon, eBay are typical examples of brands that benefited massively from banner advertising. The trick here is simply targeting the right audience. In this article, we are going to work you through what is targeted banner advertising and targeted display advertising, then show you various ways you can target your audience using targeted banner and display advertising methods to reach your audience.

1. What is Targeted Banner Advertising?

As the title implies, targeted means channelling your banner Ads to reach only the right audience, by using variables such as demographics (Age, gender, location, race, education status, marital status and language among others). Their online interest and behaviour online are as well utilized. More often, this information is collected by using tools such as Google Analytics or Facebook Pixel which track this information after initial testing Ads. Other methods include Facebook Audience Insights.

  2. What is Targeted Display Advertising?

Just like Targeted banner advertising, Targeted display advertising, on the other hand, targeted display advertising involves the use of banners that come in forms of GIF, Static images and HTMLS. This form of digital advertising also targets audience based on their demographics similar to the above listed. audience behaviour and interest is also a criterion. However, this form of advertising is charged mostly on CPM bases and not by Cost per click (CPC) or Pay per click (PPC) methods.

Watch the following video for a complete tutorial on display advertising


Having understood what these advertising methods are, let’s jump into the best ways you can reach your target audience using those two methods. Note: the below methods represents the above two explained methods.

  3. Using Keywords for targeted banner advertising and targeted display advertising

Keywords targeting is one of the most used methods of targeting audience in digital marketing. most marketers see keywords as the best tactics to target audience because of its track records. Relevant keywords give an insight on how specific web content will be aligned with your campaign. This also suggests if the audience interacting with such web pages will likely be interested in your Ads. Let’s say, for instance, it is obvious that, advertising T-shirt on a fashion Blog will likely result to conversions, more sales because most of the audience visiting that blog will be interested in buying T-shirts.

You may also like

10 Tips for Effective Banner Design and Banner Advertising

The logic behind banner advertising and how it work

4. How can I use Topic to target my audience?

Choosing a specific topic tells Ad Network to show you ads to web pages that are related to your niche. Again let’s use the example of T-shirt and Google, when you chose your topic right, Google Adsense will only deliver your banner ads or display ad to only quality websites, or Blogs that are relates to your chosen topic.

5. Targeted Banner Adverting by Placement

Ad placement using Google gives you the flexibility to choose groups of websites, which have already reserved spaces on waiting to show your Ads to a targeted audience. You have the opportunity to manually chose where your banner ads should appear on specific groups of websites/Blogs to reach your target audience.

Start Banner Advertising today as low as $2 per day and reach your target audience

6. Targeted Banner Advertising by Interest

This is similar to targeting by topic but gives you more flexibility to choose from various categories. this gives you the ability to reach a more targeted audience that has been selected by Ad preference manager. the advance here is, it allows you to sell more as you reach more people.

7. Geo-Targeting Banner Advertising

In simple terms, this is a process of targeting a specific audience based on their geographical location. Terms like Geo-Fencing are similar but a bit different as it does target audience based on their physical visits, monuments, tourist locations, natural reserve sites or simply to specific city evens or visits to competitors stores or businesses. it’s a great way to target audience as you already know what their interests and it’s mostly used in targeted display advertising. Another geo-targeting banner advertising method is Geo-Optimization. this gives the advertiser the opportunity to show banner Ads to the audience in a geographical area using their ZIP code, county, city, state etc). however, this method is best for promotional events and with a broader audience. It allows the advertiser to choose devices of their choice to display ads across.
Targeted banner advertising

8. Banner Advertising Search Retargeting

Just like keywords targeting, this another form of remarketing that allows the advertiser to display banner Ads to an audience that search for particuler keyword phrases. This practice is commonly used to target those audience based on search volumes on certain keywords and how relevant they are to the campaign.

9. How to use Display Advertising Remarketing

This is another effective way of converting your visitors into customers. You can use this strategy to target visitors that abandoned your cart to buy by showing different Ads. This type of Ads could come with a discount that will trigger their emotions and enable them to take action. this is also known as site retargeting because the practice is similar. You basically use the data you collect from your visitors, analyze it and target specific visitors that didn’t take action.

10. Display Advertising Black-Listing and White-Listing

This gives you the opportunity to targets specific group of websites and avoids showing Ads on other specific websites. the white-listing here involves including those websites you wish to show your Ads on. On the other hand, Black-listing involves listing a list of websites you don’t want to show your Ads on. This can be done by because of few reasons, one is that you don’t want the content on those sites or their geographical location and second, you simply don’t want to associate with such brands.

Conclusion

We would have touched on the cost of banner advertising but decided to leave that for the next post. however, we want you all to profit from display advertising as much as possible. This is because the opportunities are endless. We believe all the above methods listed above will contribute massively to making you display advertising a success. If you have been doing digital marketing and have some good experience with banner advertising, please let us know in the comment section. likewise, some of you that are just starting out.
Wishing you good luck with digital advertising from all of us from AdsTargets 🙂

10 Tips for Effective Banner Design and Banner Advertising

Many internet marketers struggle with banner design and banner advertising every day of their career. This is because many of them understand the effectiveness of banner advertising. However, before you start creating banner ads, you need to have a strategy. That will get you most value from your banner ads campaign, and one of the most important of that strategy is a banner design that plays a very significant role in effective banner advertising. In this article, we will work you through the process of creating an effective banner design and ultimately banner advertising that will benefit you the most. So let’s jump right in.

Banner design

What are the benefits of banner advertising?

There no doubt that banner advertising is one of the most used forms of online adverting, in fact, almost all companies, big or small use banner advertising to get online visibility and attract the audience to their websites or landing pages. It is because well design banner campaign could massively increase the brand awareness, could be affordable, could be measurable and have potentials of increasing unique traffic that converts to sales and overall profitability of the company. Many companies use banner ads to re-target their audience even more effectively after tracking their behavior. These points are just a few benefits advertisers could get from banner advertising. Now let’s look at the tips for creating banners and placing banner Ads.

1. What are the most effective banner sizes

There are many banner sizes out there which you come across everyday while browsing the internet, however, there some banner sizes which are considered to be the most popular and the most effective for banner advertising. These banners most loved by both advertisers and publishers because of their nature, these simply the most available positions on websites and blogs which many marketers believe they are the most standard banner sizes. The table below shows the four most effective banner sizes and where to place them.

Ad sizeNameWhere it’s featuredSupply
300×250Medium RectangleEmbedded within or at the end of articlesGood inventory
728×90Leader boardPlaced on top or in inserted in an articleGood inventory
336×280Large RectangleEmbedded within or at the end of articlesGood inventory
300×600Half PageFeatured in the right or left hand sideGrowing inventory

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Best Banner sizes

2. Do I need Frames in Banner Design?

Just put your self in the position of the potential customer. OR someone you would want them to see your banner ads. Naturally, people are more concentrated on what is inside of the frames. It is the reason why you have to consider using frames where necessary especially on banners with a white background; you should consider adding one pixel of red, grey or yellow at the frames of the banner ad.

3. Make your Banner Ad Text readable

The text on your banners should be clear, and readable by your targets audience. The reason behind this is because your text carries the message to your potential customers. You should consider that as a communication strategy. Therefore, make sure the text on your banners is always simple, concise, and clear so anyone looking at your banners will be able to read and understand The message you are sending. Below are the examples of good and bad banner ad text

Example of banner ad text

4. Try out animation Banner Ads

Recently, many advertisers have engaged in animation banner ad, and it will be saved to say, they have seen valuable results with their animation banner ad campaigns. Many believed animated banner ads perform far better than the traditional static banner ads because of their attractive nature. However, the best way to use them is to make sure they display not more than 15, seconds and their loop frequency is maximum three times and above all your animated banner has a call to action.

Animation banner ad

5. What is the right file format for banner Ads?

When creating banners, you need to understand the file format also matter, this is because the file format ensures your banners display correctly in the publisher’s websites or blogs and it suits the right positions as described. Most of the used file formats are JPG, GIF, PNG, and HTML5 depending on the software used in creating them. One thing you need to avoid is flash ads merely because they are out of date.

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6. What are the right colors for banner ads?

The psychology behind colors in advertising cannot be overemphasized. Colors are significantly important when it comes to advertising as they give a special and unique representation of the message carried by the banners. Color evokes emotions of your audience for the first time as soon as they set their eyes on the banner. Colors are also subjective and have different associations in different cultures. Taking a couple of minutes to research your audience when making color choices will be a good idea. The below image show what colors represent and how they can be used in online advertising.

colors used in advertising

  7. Make your your call to action is clear

Your call the action should at least be bold and placed in the right place. This because, it is important to make sure your potential customer sees it and take the desired action. Having a clear and a bold call to action will help increase your click-through rate, and reduce friction for your potential customers.

Call to action banner

8. What is the right banner design file size

Banner design needs to meet some requirements. These include the file size as specified by most advertising platforms such as Google Adwords, Adstargets Ad Network. The logic here is to make the banners load as fast as possible on the publisher’s web pages for people to see them as soon as they visit those web pages. So keeping your banner file size at 150Kb is highly recommended.

Google Adwords banner file size

9. Consistency is with your landing page(s)

Banner Ads like any other ad type require some level of a constituency, consistency here means your banners ads should direct or send your traffic to the right page which contains all the information about your brand. Your landing pages play a crucial role in turning your visitors into customers. Your website or landing pages should be properly structures and descriptive so that your visitors won’t get confused or lost and then have to leave your website or landing page. It is essential to convert your visitors to customers especially the ones that come from your banner ads so you won’t waste much money on advertising so in general make sure your landing represent precisely what your banner ads are communicating.

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10. Make your Banner Ads design simple

Making those banners complicated to understand will impact negatively on your banner ads campaign. Visitors will probably scan through your Ads just for few seconds, and it’s your job to communicate your message to them in those few seconds which is why you have to keep your banner ads simple and easy to understand. You might decide to have an attractive graphic that sends a message rather than having a significant amount of text. The key here is to keep it simple and clean.

Conclusion

The above-listed tips are indeed not a complete list of tips for effective banner design and banner advertising. However, they are the most critical top ten tips you need for effective banner design, and banner advertising, with these tips, you are good to start banner ads that will profit your brand.

Let us know in the comment section your experience with banner design and banner ads.

The logic behind banner advertising and how it work

The logic behind banner advertising and how it work

Banner advertising is known to be one of the most popular forms of advertising online. it’s no news that most it is also the most effective way of adverting online among many other methods of advertising but how does it start and how can online advertisers and publishers benefit mostly from it?. In this article, we are going to explain what is is banner advertising, how it started and how effective is banner advertising.

Historically, the first banner ad was created on October 27 in 1994 on Wired Magazine (then it was called hotwired.com). the message on the simple but innovative banner ad states “Have you ever clicked your mouse right here? You will”. the aim was to send traffic to the AT&T website. Now that you know how it all started, let’s jump into it.

1. What is Banner Advertising?

The primary aim of banner advertising which is also known as display advertising is to direct potential customers to a website or a specific landing page. Giving it visually and attractiveness, banner ads are usually used for promoting brands across different advertising platform by simply sending traffic from the host website to the advertiser’s websites or landing page. Today anyone can start a banner advertising campaign through Google Adwords or Ad networks also called display network.

2. what is Banner Ad?

Banner Ad is a web banner crafted by the advertiser and displayed on a website or a webpage which consists of an image (.jpg, .png, .gif) or of a multimedia object (usually created using Flash or HTML5).

Depending on the technology used in creating banner ads, it can be a static banner ad or animated banner ad.

The static banner ad can be a simple image or a visual that is acting just like an ad but technically it takes you to the advertiser’s website or landing page of the advertisement once you click on it.

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One of the most asked questions about on banner ads is “What is an animated banner ad?” because of this, we decided to answer the question here as follows:

An animated banner ad (or web banner) is a type of digital advertising that is delivered by an ad server. The aim is primarily similar to static banner ad: to get noticed on the website and make the user click on it.

Also, you can call the animated ad a programmatically generated display or sequential visual that creates the illusion that the objects in the image are moving. To learn more about banner ads, watch the video below.

3. How does Banner Ads work?

The logic behind banner ads is simply to direct traffic to the advertiser’s webpage, website or landing page which result to more sales, brand awareness, conversions, lead generation etc. the most common function of banner ads is they must be clickable and send the visitor to the desired destination. This brings us to the next question about banner ads which “why should I use banner Advertising?” the following lines give a brief explanation of why you should use banner advertising.

1. Brand awareness – it helps to give your brand the online and off-line exposure that helps grow your brand awareness so people can easily recognize your products and service which lead to more sales and possibly more profit. Big brands such as Amazon, IBM, Apple, Target and Nike among so many others used banner ads to grow their business.

2. Lead generator – it gives you the opportunity to build your customer list. As a stater, a banner ad can help you to get more users to signup and try your products or services and at the same time maintain a massive list of emails you can reach anytime when you have new products or services listed on your website.

3. Retarget your audience – by using tracking tools, you will be able to re-target visitors who came to your website and did not signup but show some interest.

For more information on how banner ads works and the best way to use them, watch the video below

4. Is banner Advertising effective?

One great advantage of the online advertising generally over the traditional ones is that it is to measure its effectiveness in comparison to the money spent on it. Regarding banner ads, the main effectiveness indicator for measuring banner ads campaign is the click-through rate. The click-through rate (CTR) is calculated simply by dividing the total number of users who clicked on the banner by the number of times the ad was shown to them (impressions).

For example, a marketer can say a particular ad unit has a click-through rate of 4% or 5%. That means that out of 100 impressions delivered, the banner was clicked on four or five times respectively. Therefore, the higher the CTR is, the more effective we can say the advertisement is.

5. Standard banner sizes for advertising

I am sure you come across various kinds of banner sizes, which are designed to fit specific spaces on the publisher’s web pages. this helps reduces the amount of work advertisers face when creating a lot of banner ads.

When you browse across the Internet it’s likely for you to encounter all kinds of banners in all kinds of sizes. Lucky for us, there are some standards too. And their role is to reduce the amount of work for agencies when faced with the problem of creating many banners and similar sizes for different publishers. And here is where the IAB standards come into play. But we’ll talk more about ad standards in a future post.

Check the list below with the banner ad standard size:

Ad sizeNameWhere it’s featuredSupply
300×250Medium RectangleEmbedded within or at the end of articlesGood inventory
336×280Large RectangleEmbedded within or at the end of articlesGood inventory
728×90LeaderboardPlaced on top or in inserted in an articleGood inventory
300×600Half PageFeatured in the right or left hand sideGrowing inventory
468×60BannerFeatured in small spaces inside or on the left in articlesLimited, declining inventory
234×60Half BannerFeatured in small spaces inside or on the left in articlesLimited, declining inventory
120×600SkyscraperFeatured in websites sidebarsLimited inventory
160×600Wide SkyscraperFeatured in websites sidebarsGood inventory
970×90Wide SkyscraperTop of website pagesLimited inventory
200×200Small SquareUsually featured in the right hand sidebarLimited inventory
250×250SquareUsually featured in the right hand sidebarLimited inventory

6. How to create a banner for advertising

Creating banners is no magic and does not require special skills. However, you need a bit of fast learning ability to watch a couple of videos on YouTube and you are good to go. if you choose to use other automated resources online still fine, you will be able to use hundreds of free Canva banner templates Or still you can use the premium banner template on bannersnack.

The video below will teach you how to create banners using Photoshop

1. Who is your main target and what do you want from them? Before you design a banner ad you need to know who is your core audience and what you want from them. Maybe you want them to click on your website, or to buy your limited sale product or to try your service for free. Think about that!

2. What is your value proposition? This will help you write the text of your banner and also choose a good CTA button text.

3. Choose a Standard web banner ad size – Because the publishers are usually using the standard banner ad sizes on their websites. So, if you pick another size you limit the reach of your banner ad campaigns.

4. Use readable fonts – You want the user to understand what you want to offer and what he can get if he will click your banner ad.

5. Use high-quality photos – A very low-quality photos and images used in a banner ad can create mistrust between the brand and the user. 54% of users don’t click banner ads because they don’t trust them.

6. Use your brand colors – If you want to create professional banner ads and you want people to recognize your brand on the internet I recommend you to stay close to your brand color.

7. Don’t overcrowd your banner ad – The simpler the banner ad is the easier you can communicate the right message to your audience.

8. Don’t forget to use a branding element (logo, company name or website) – It doesn’t matter how big you are in your industry, you need to use one of your branding elements to show the user that your company is behind that banner ad.

7. How do I advertise my banner?

Advertising your created banners is not difficult at all, there are a lot of platforms how there including Blogs that are relevant to your niche and also have a fair amount of traffic. the most favorable banner advertising platform these days are Ad network such as AdsTargets, Google Adwords, Yahoo and Bing Ads, BuyAds among many others. You can even use the link below to start banner adverting for a very cheap rate.

Signup today to start Banner advertising for just $2 per day at AdsTargets

8. How to start effective banner advertising?

advertising generally require some principles and knowledge for it to be effective advertising champagne, whether you are advertising using Facebook Ads, Google Adwords, AdsTargets, You need to have a strategy on what you want to achieve with your Ad campaign, the great thing about banner ad campaign is the visual presentation of banner ads as it has the ability to use images and videos and can also allow the use of buttons, animations, colours and many more depending on the used technology.

so what are the most important things you must know before starting banner Ads

1. What do you want to achieve from your campaign – think strategically about the product or service you are advertising and decide what you want your audience to know about it.hat’s the specific idea you can build your campaign on.

2. Determine your budget – Here you decide on how much you are willing to invest in your advertising campaign to get you the return on investment. You may decide to spend $100 a day or $1000 a month to reach your specific targets audience. since money is valuable, you need to scale your investment in advertising to get the best out of your campaigns.

3. Who is your audience – Understanding who your target audience is will help you create a better banner ad campaign? Knowing your target audience need will help you design banners that will communicate the message in the best possible way to attract them. you may decide to target your audience based on their location, age, gender and their interest depending on the products or services you are selling.

Conclusion

Banner adverting has earned created over the years for playing a strategic role in building most of the biggest brands we know today, for example, e-commerce giants like Amazon were one of the biggest spenders in the early days of Google advertising,Wall Mart, AirBnb, Time Magazine and many others are a living testimony on how effective banner Ads could be. Banner ads have proven to be one of the most effective forms of advertising since its invention. we hope you have learned a lot from this article.

Please let us know in the comment section what is your experience with banner advertising 🙂